NORTHERN SONOMA COUNTY AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DISTRICT

RULE 520 - CIVIL PENALTIES

  1. Any person who intentionally or negligently violates Section 41700 or 41701 of the California Health and Safety Code, or any rule or regulation of the District, prohibiting or limiting the discharge of air contaminants into the air shall be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each day in which such violation occurs. (H&S 42402)

  2. Any person who intentionally or negligently violates any order for abatement issued by the district board or hearing board pursuant to Rule 510(a), shall be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed six thousand dollars ($6,000) for each day in which such violation occurs. (H&S 42401)

  3. The civil penalties prescribed in Rule 520 (a) & (b) shall be assessed and recovered in a civil action brought in the name of the people of the State of California by the Attorney General, by any district attorney, or by the attorney for the district in which the violation occurs in any court of competent jurisdiction. In determining such amount, the court shall take into consideration all relevant circumstances, including, but not limited to, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the nature and persistence of the violation, the length of time over which the violation occurs, and corrective action, if any, taken by the defendant.