SAN DIEGO COUNTY AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DISTRICT
RULE 67.2 - DRY CLEANING EQUIPMENT USING PETROLEUM-BASED SOLVENT
(Effective 1/31/78: Rev. Adopted & Effective 5/15/96)
The provisions of Subsection (d)(2) of this rule shall not apply to any dry cleaning facility which does not consume more than 600 gallons of petroleum-based organic solvent in any consecutive twelve-month period. It is the responsibility of any person claiming this exemption to maintain monthly records of usage of petroleum-based organic solvents. These records shall be retained on site for at least three years and shall be made available to the District upon request.
(c) DEFINITIONS (Rev. Effective 5/15/96)
(i) A leak of petroleum-based organic solvent at a rate in excess of three drops per minute; or
(ii) A visible mist of petroleum-based organic solvent.
(i) There is no fugitive liquid leak from any portion of the dry cleaning facility.
(ii) Solvents are stored in closed containers only, which may be equipped with vents provided such vents are necessary to comply with applicable fire and safety codes.
(iii) All washer lint traps, button traps, access doors and other parts of the equipment where solvent may be exposed to the atmosphere are kept closed at all times except when required for proper operation or maintenance.
(iv) All wastes containing petroleum-based organic solvents, including cartridge filters, are stored in sealed metal containers or underground tanks and disposed of as set forth in California State Law regarding hazardous waste disposal as described in Title 22, Division 4, Chapter 30 of the California Administrative Code. Sealed containers other than metal may be used provided the containers are compatible with the waste and meet the requirements of the California Department of Health Services.
(v) All cartridge type filters are drained in the filter housing for at least 24 hours before discarding the cartridges or drained for at least 12 hours and dried in a closed dryer.
(vi) Articles which have been dry cleaned are transferred to the dryer within five minutes after they are removed from the washer, or are kept covered.
(vii) The dryer remains closed and the recovery phase continues until there is no visible flow in the sight glass of the condenser for at least one minute.
Any person operating a dry cleaning facility using petroleum-based solvents shall maintain purchase records showing the date and amount of petroleum-based solvents purchased, and shall maintain daily records of the total dry weight of fabric processed. These records shall be retained on site for at least three years and made available to the District upon request.
(f) TEST METHODS
(g) compliance schedule
Any person operating a dry cleaning facility using more than 600 gallons of petroleum-based organic solvent in any consecutive twelve-month period that does not comply with the requirements of Subsection (d)(2) shall conform to the following increments of progress: