YOLO-SOLANO AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

RULE 4.2 - PERMIT FEES - AGRICULTURAL BURNING
(Revised April 10, 1996; Revision Effective January 1, 1997)

INDEX

100 GENERAL

101 PURPOSE

102 APPLICABILITY

200 DEFINITIONS

300 STANDARDS

301 FEES

400 ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

401 ANNIVERSARY DATE

402 WAIVER OF FEES





100 GENERAL

101 PURPOSE: To establish permit fees to be charged to agricultural sources subject to Yolo-Solano Air Quality Management District Regulation VI.

102 APPLICABILITY: This rule applies to any person who conducts or allows to be conducted on property under his control open burning for agricultural operations, range improvement, wildlife habitat improvement and/or wildland vegetation management.

200 DEFINITIONS: All terms used in this Rule shall retain the definitions provided under Rule 1.1, GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS, unless otherwise defined in this Rule.

300 STANDARDS

301 FEES: No person shall open burn or authorize the open burning of agricultural crop waste or conduct any range or wildlife habitat, or wildland improvement burning without first obtaining a valid Agricultural Burning Permit from the Air Quality Management District and paying the following annual fees:

301.1 SCHEDULE OF FEES

Each Agricultural Burn Permit shall be subject to a base fee of $30.00 pursuant to Section 41512.5 of the California Health and Safety Code and the following additional acreage fees:

  1. Field crop stubble, including, but not limited to wheat, corn, safflower, oats, and barley: $1.25 per acre burned.
  2. Rice stubble: $1.50 per acre burned, fee includes costs for administration of the Rice Straw Burning Phasedown Regulation.
  3. Orchard prunings: $.85 per acre burned.
  4. Miscellaneous burning, including, but not limited to: reclamation district levees, wildland vegetation management burning, range management burning, or fallow fields that are not subject to Sections 301.1.a, 301.1.b, or 301.1.c of this Rule: $1.00 per acre burned. Wildland vegetation management burning on land owned by the State of California or the federal government shall be exempted from the requirements of this Rule.
  5. Roadways, fencelines, irrigation ditches, and field borders shall be considered part of the acreage permitted.
  6. The above fees include the costs imposed by the Sacramento Valley Basinwide Air Pollution Control Council up to $5.00 per permit.

400 ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS

401 ANNIVERSARY DATE: An Agricultural Burning Permit issued pursuant to District Rule 4.2. will be valid from January 1 through December 31 of the calendar year in which it is issued.

402 WAIVER OF FEES: Notwithstanding Section 301 above, the Air Pollution Control Officer may waive the fees required by this Rule when the waiver of such fees would be in the public interest and in the best interest of the Air Quality Management District.