Enforcement Advisory: #160: Abrasive Blasting Program - Applications
This page last reviewed March 3, 2009
Abrasive Blasting Applications
February 24, 1998
ABRASIVE BLASTING PROGRAM - APPLICATIONS
The California Air Resources Board Compliance Division is accepting applications for certification of abrasives for permissible outdoor blasting. Although applications for certification of new abrasives are accepted at any time, submittal during the current renewal period for existing certifications may result in a lower certification fee. In order to ensure that your product will be tested with the products submitted for certification renewal, we will need to receive your abrasives by April 15, 1998.
The purpose of the abrasive certification program is to restrict the abrasive selected for permissible dry outdoor blasting operations in order to reduce the generation of fine particles, which are inhalable and contribute to reduced visibility. In order to be certified, the abrasive must contain not more than one percent, by weight, materials passing a #70 U.S. Standard sieve before blasting. After blasting the abrasive must contain not more than 1.8 percent, by weight, material five microns or smaller. The producer or manufacturer of an abrasive which fails the sieve test may choose to demonstrate that the abrasive meets a 20 percent opacity emission limit when blasted. The after-blast criteria must be met in either case. A copy of the regulations and a flowchart of the certification process are enclosed.
Each grade of the abrasive you wish to have certified for permissible outdoor blasting must be submitted separately. Also, if you produce an abrasive at more than one site a sample from each site must be submitted separately. Please complete and return the enclosed application form for all abrasives you wish to submit for recertification this year. Be sure you read the instructions carefully before you fill out the application and ship your product. Products submitted incorrectly will not be tested.
If you wish to have your distributors listed with your certification, you will need to provide a written request that each distributor be listed. The distributors will also need to request in writing that they be listed as distributors for your product.
An invoice for the cost of the test will be sent to you at the completion of the certification testing. Your results will be sent to you upon payment of the invoice. Non-payment of the invoice will result in decertification. Certification is effective for no more than 2 years.
If you have any questions, please call Ms. Kathryn Gugeler at (916) 327-1521. All correspondence should be addressed to me at the post office box below.
Enclosures (Call Kathryn Gugeler at 916-327-1521 for applications.)
James R. Ryden, Chief
California Air Resources Board
Post Office Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 95812