Placer County Regional Transit Case Settles for $40,500
This page last reviewed March 26, 2012
In January 2012, the County of Placer agreed to pay $40,500.00 in penalties for violating air quality regulations: $30,375.00 will go to the California Air Pollution Control Fund, which provides funding for projects and research to improve California's air quality; $10,125.00 will go to Peralta Community College District to fund emission education classes conducted by participating California community colleges, under the California Council for Diesel Education and Technology (CCDET) program.
An investigation by the Air Resources Board (ARB)showed that the County of Placer did not properly self-inspect their diesel vehicles to assure compliance with the Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP), and failed to use best available control technology (BACT) to meet the requirements of the Transit Fleet Vehicle (TFV) Rule. ARB documented violations as they related to the PSIP and TFV Rule. To settle the case, the County of Placer agreed to the $40,500.00 penalty and to comply with the PSIP and the TFV Rule.