

## 980 Ninth Street, 16<sup>th</sup> Floor Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 449-9603 (916) 449-9604 FAX www.capcoa.org

May 15, 2007

**PRESIDENT** 

Larry Allen
San Luis Obispo County APCD

**VICE PRESIDENT** 

Douglas Quetin Monterey Bay Unified APCD

**PAST PRESIDENT** 

Barbara Lee
N. Sonoma County APCD

SECRETARY/CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

Terry Dressler Santa Barbara County APCD

**DIRECTORS** 

Stephen Birdsall Imperial County APCD

Jack Broadbent
Bay Area AQMD

Thomas Christofk

Placer County APCD

Mat Ehrhardt Yolo-Solano AQMD

Larry F. Greene Sacramento Metro AQMD

Jim Harris *Amador County APCD* 

Seyed Sadredin
San Joaquin Valley APCD

Ray Fernandez
San Diego County APCD

W. James Wagoner Butte County AQMD

Barry Wallerstein
South Coast AQMD

**EXEC. DIRECTOR** 

Melvin D. Zeldin mel@capcoa.org

Dr. Robert F. Sawyer, Chairman California Air Resources Board 1001 "I" Street P.O. Box 2815 Sacramento CA 95812

> Re: Proposed Regulations for the Certification and Testing of Gasoline Vapor Recovery Systems Using Aboveground Storage Tanks

Dear Dr. Sawyer:

The California Air Pollution Control Officers Association (CAPCOA) supports ARB staff's Proposed Regulations for the Certification and Testing of Gasoline Vapor Recovery Systems Using Aboveground Storage Tanks.

This regulation for Enhanced Vapor Recovery (EVR) on aboveground storage tanks is based on readily available, proven technologies, and it complements the existing EVR regulation for underground storage tanks. It will significantly improve equipment performance and reliability, further reducing emissions of smog-forming volatile organic compounds from gasoline dispensing facilities. The CAPCOA Vapor Recovery Subcommittee has been working with CARB staff on this regulation since 2001, and we appreciate the openness and cooperation that CARB staff has shown working with the Subcommittee and other stakeholders in developing this regulation.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please call me at (805) 781-5912.

Sincerely,

Larry R. Allen President