Solid Waste Collection Vehicle Rule

This page last reviewed November 13, 2014


Background:


California's solid waste collection vehicle rule was passed in September 2003 to reduce the harmful health impacts of exhaust from diesel-fueled waste collection trucks. The solid waste collection vehicle regulation (SWCV) will reduce cancer-causing particulate matter and smog-forming nitrogen oxide emissions from these trucks by requiring owners to use ARB verified control technology that best reduces emissions, following a phased-in schedule from 2004 through 2010.

Basic Explanation of the SWCV Rule

Are you a waste hauler? If you wish to receive notices regarding the California Air Resources Board Solid Waste Collection Vehicle Rule, sign-up to the SWCV listserve

What's New:

Advisory for vehicles using a Cleaire Muffler Module (CMM) (November 13, 2014)
  • MSC Mail Out 14-18 extends compliance for vehicles subject to the LongMile recall and have an installed CMM.
Advisory on the Delay or Suspension of the Installation of Particulate Matter (PM) Filters (September 28, 2011)
  • MSC Mail-Out 11-29 has been posted to address compliance when a manufacturer of a verified diesel PM filter suspends sales and installations of a PM filter, or requires its removal for a particular engine family.
Municipal Contracts with Owners of Solid Waste Collection Vehicles (January 11, 2011)
  • The Air Resources Board is requesting information on municipal contracts with owners of solid waste collection vehicles, as required by Title 13, California Code of Regulations, Section 2021.1(b) of the Diesel Particulate Matter Control Measure for On-Road Heavy-Duty Diesel-Fueled Residential and Commercial Solid Waste Collection Vehicle Regulation.
  • Municipalities must provide all the information requested in the reporting form. Please return the completed form via email, by the JANUARY 31, 2011 reporting deadline.
Advisory on the December 31, 2010 Compliance Deadline for All Solid Waste Collection Vehicles (November 16, 2010)
  • The purpose of this advisory is to notify owners and operators of vehicles subject to the Solid Waste Collection Vehicles (SWCV) Rule that the final compliance deadline for the application of 100 percent best available technology is December 31, 2010. The compliance deadline applies to all SWCV including Groups 1, 2a, 2b and 3. The owner is required to keep the vehicles in compliance with this regulation, as long as the vehicles are operated in California. If you have any questions regarding this advisory, please contact the Diesel Hotline at (866) 634-3735 or by email.
1-year blanket compliance extension for certain Group 3 vehicles (August 23, 2010)
  • The Air Resources Board is granting a 1-year blanket compliance extension for certain Group 3 vehicles subject to the Fleet Rule for Solid Waste Collection Vehicles. This compliance extension is limited to Group 3 vehicles where a verified diesel emission control strategy (DECS) is not available and a fleet has applied a verified DECS to all remaining Group 3 vehicles where one is available. To qualify for an extension for the remaining Group 3 vehicles, the vehicle must be powered by:
    • any dual or bi-fuel engine not currently retrofitted, or
    • an engine with a displacement of over 15 liters and equipped with exhaust gas recirculation.
  • More information is available in Mail-Out # MSC 10-35.
Municipal Contracts with Owners of Solid Waste Collection Vehicles (January 5, 2010)
  • The Air Resources Board is requesting information on municipal contracts with owners of solid waste collection vehicles, as required by Title 13, California Code of Regulations, Section 2021.1(b) of the Diesel Particulate Matter Control Measure for On-Road Heavy-Duty Diesel-Fueled Residential and Commercial Solid Waste Collection Vehicle Regulation.
  • The link to the record keeping form is http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/swcv/municipalitiesreport1.xls.  Municipalities must provide all the information requested in the form. Please return the completed form via email to uramesh@arb.ca.gov, BY THE JANUARY 31, 2010, REPORTING DEADLINE.


preload