Quick Tips / Hotline Frequently Asked Questions
The following are the Quick Tips
and the Frequently Asked Questions that can be heard on the 866-6DIESEL
1.) "Problems with your TRUCRS account or reporting online? Email
firstname.lastname@example.org. Be sure to include your company information, TRUCRS
ID, and vehicle information."
2.) "Remember: update your TRUCRS reported fleet information if you
bought or sold a vehicle this year or you are using a provision that
requires annual mileage reporting."
3.) Did you know? No soot filter can legally be sold or offered for
sale in the state without CARB's stamp of approval. Verified filters
also come with a manufacturer's warranty that protects your investment,
as long as the filter and engine are properly maintained."
4.) "Certificate of Reporting expired? Print out a new one each year by
logging into your TRUCRS account."
5.) "Did you know ARB rules are designed to clean up emissiosn from
toxic diesel emissions? Your actions help clean the air so everyone can
6.) "Avoid penalties due to manufacturer delay: order your equipment at
least 4 months before your compliance deadline."
7.) "Gear Up for Clean Trucks! AIr Resources Board inspectors are
actively enforcing the diesel regulations across California."
8.) "In a hurry? You can also read our Frequently Asked Questions
online at arb.ca.gov/truckstop."
9.) "Want to save time? The Truckstop website has a user-friendly
contact form. Ask your questions via email or request a return phone
call. Visit arb.ca.gov/truckstop."
10.) "Idling limitations are in effect in Califronia. WIthout a Clean
Idle sticker, idling for more than 5 minutes within California is
generally prohibited. Idling within 100 feet of a residential area or
school is also prohibited."
11.) "If you operate a diesel truck in California, regardless of
homebase location, the clean-up rules apply to you."
Frequently Asked Questions
"To hear information about diesel regulations and
- “Historically, the long-lasting diesel engine
had few emission controls. This led to diesel equipment as a
significant source of harmful toxic particulate matter and smog-forming
oxides of nitrogen.
Therefore, California has developed regulations to
control air pollution from trucks, buses, trailers, transport
refrigeration units, and other diesel-fueled equipment. Emission
reductions from existing equipment are needed to meet federal air
quality standards and reduce health effects from diesel exhaust, such
The TruckStop website was created to help you determine your
regulatory requirements. The Diesel Vehicle Questionnaire on TruckStop
will help you determine which ARB regulations apply to you. Visit the
website at www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop”
"For general requirements of the Truck and Bus Regulation..."
- “The Truck and Bus Regulation requires nearly all
private and federally owned trucks and buses that operate in California
-- even if based outside the state -- to be upgraded to reduce
emissions. This includes vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating
greater than 14,000 pounds and originally designed to be driven
on-road, whether or not they are registered or used on-road.
The regulation requires the phase-in of particulate matter filters --
also known as PM or soot filters -- for heavier trucks with 1996 model
year or newer engines beginning January 1, 2012, and replacement of
older trucks starting January 1, 2015. Note that lighter vehicles with
a GVWR 14,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds have no requirements until 2015.
By January 1, 2023, nearly all trucks and buses will need to have 2010
or newer model year engines.
Heavier vehicles over 26,000 pounds GVWR
can follow the model year schedule or report to take advantage of
flexibility in the rule.
Fleets with three or fewer vehicles may be able to take advantage of
the Small Fleet Option. For specific compliance information and
compliance options visit arb.ca.gov/truckstop.
Note that if you transport containers to ports and intermodal railyards
you are subject to the Drayage Truck Regulation and have separate
"For options for small fleets with one to three vehicles..."
- “The Truck and Bus Regulation has provided
flexibility for small fleets with one to three diesel vehicles subject
to the rule.
The small fleet option delayed filter requirements until January 1,
2014, (or July 1, 2014 for those under Good Faith Effort) for heavier
trucks greater than 26,000 pounds gross vehicle
weight rating. To use this option, heavier fleet vehicles must have
with the following schedule:
All fleet owners wanting to take advantage of the Small Fleet provision
must have already reported to take advantage. Reporting for Small Fleet
is now closed as the opt-in deadline has passed.
One vehicle must have had a filter by January 1, 2014 (or July 1, 2014
those under Good Faith Effort).
A second vehicle must have a filter by January 1, 2017.
All three vehicles must have filters by January 1, 2018.
The filter requirements may be met by either installing an ARB verified
level three filter or by upgrading to equipment with factory installed
filters, such as 2007 or newer engines.
Vehicle replacement requirements begin January 1, 2020, following the
model year compliance schedule. Any
heavy vehicles equipped with filters by January 1, 2014 can delay 2010
requirements until January 1, 2023.
"To hear about particulate matter filters and how to get one
- “A particulate matter filter, also known as PM
filter or soot filter, is an air pollution control device similar to a
muffler, but it helps to reduce emissions from your vehicle. The
technical name for a PM filter is a Verified Diesel Emission Control
Strategy or “VEE-DECKS.” Filters are verified by ARB to cut emissions
through extensive testing. Filters encompass many different types of
technologies that reduce NOx and/or PM emissions.
Under the Truck and Bus Regulation, vehicles that require a filter
retrofit must use a device that is the cleanest available. In nearly
all cases this is a filter verified to achieve at least an 85 percent
reduction in PM emissions, known as a “Level 3 plus” device.
Fleet owners, should contact manufacturers or authorized filter
installers to arrange for installation. An authorized installer will
typically identify an appropriate filter for your vehicle. You should
use a qualified, knowledgeable company familiar with filter
installations -- it is important that the installer meets all the
requirements for the device. Make sure the model you choose is on ARB’s
list of currently verified filters.
Note ARB does not recommend specific devices or installers, but as a
public service maintains a list of installers, found on the Truckstop
"To determine if you need to report your equipment to ARB..."
- “Under the Truck and Bus Regulation, vehicle
owners that comply with the engine model year schedules and are not
using credits, exemptions, or extensions do not need to report. Owners
that report by certain deadlines can take advantage of flexibility
options in the regulation and must report annually. Visit the Truckstop
website at www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop for details on reporting
"If you are having difficulty with the reporting system..."
- “The Truck Regulation, Compliance, Upload, and
Reporting System, known as TRUCRS, is a free, web-based system, that
allows fleets to report their vehicle information to ARB. Find the
reporting system at www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop.
If the yellow buttons at the top of the webpage are not visible when
you log on, try switching to Microsoft Internet Explorer or Mozilla
Firefox web browsers. Also, if you are using an older version of
Internet Explorer and the yellow buttons are frozen, try clicking on
the Compatibility Mode button located on the address bar.
If you have difficulty logging into the reporting system, remember that
user names and passwords are case sensitive. You can retrieve a lost
password by requesting it on the reporting system log-in page. Check
your junk mail folder if you have not received an email within an hour
of the request.
If you misplaced your username and cannot log-onto the Truck and Bus
reporting system please email TRUCRS@arb.ca.gov with your
company information and TRUCRS ID to request assistance.”
"If you cannot locate required reporting information or cannot print
the reporting certificate..."
- “This section will address where to find
certain information required by the Truck and Bus Reporting System,
like the vehicle gross vehicle weight rating and engine family name. It
will also address common issues with printing the reporting
The gross vehicle weight rating -- also known as GVWR -- is assigned by
the vehicle manufacturer or finisher and generally includes the weight
of the vehicle itself plus fuel, passengers, cargo, and trailer tongue
weight. The label that identifies the GVWR is typically located on the
driver's door post. Note this weight is not the same as the unladed
weight, gross combined weight rating, or stickered DMV registration
weight rating. The GVWR cannot be de-rated or changed, regardless of
The Engine Family Name can be found on the Emission Control Label – or
ECL -- that is required to be affixed to all engines 1974 and newer
that were federally certified. An ECL will often indicate that an
engine “meets US EPA or California emission standards” or say
“important engine information.” It will typically indicate the model
year of the engine and family name. Contact your local engine dealer or
the manufacturer for a replacement label if yours is missing or not
readable. Remember, ECL’s are required by California law. A reporting
certificate is available through the Truck and Bus Reporting system and
is good through the year of issue. You may print the reporting
certificate from your account by logging into the system and selecting
the “view fleet” tab and then selecting the “print a certificate” link.
You will not be able to access the certificate until all required
information is complete. Once you are able to access the certificate,
you may print it for your records and to make it available to motor
carriers or brokers who ask for it.
See the Helpful Reporting Hints document located on the TRUCRS
reporting system log-on page for additional assistance.”
"For information on how ARB rules are enforced and the penalties..."
- “ARB enforces regulations through a combination
of fleet audits and inspections at roadside locations such as CHP
weigh-stations, distribution centers, fleet facilities, truck stops,
and other places where equipment is present. Non-compliant equipment
face penalties that start at $1,000 per violation per month and
increase significantly over time. The actual penalty amount can vary
depending on circumstances, such as good faith efforts to comply.
should make every effort to come into compliance with the regulation as
quickly as possible. The sooner you act, the lower the potential
penalties. You cannot legally operate a vehicle in California that is
out of compliance with a regulation. The longer you operate an
out-of-compliance vehicle, the greater the risk of being cited for a
If you have questions regarding a specific citation you may have been
issued, please return to the Main Menu and select the option for
"For available funding to help cover the cost of clean up..."
- “Funding is generally very limited. A number
of funding programs provide grants, loans, or vouchers to assist truck
and diesel equipment owners. These opportunities are designed to help
with the purchase of cleaner vehicles and equipment to achieve
emissions reductions above and beyond any regulatory requirements.
Many of the funding programs are managed by California’s local Air
Pollution Control Districts and inquiries should be directed to your
local district. Equipment owners are encouraged to apply as early as
possible to maximize potential funding options. Also, loan assistance
for small businesses may be available to help purchase trucks, or
install filters. For more information visit the Truckstop website at
www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop and complete the Funding Assistance Survey.”
"For information about the Tractor-Trailer Greenhouse Gas Regulation..."
- “The Tractor-Trailer Greenhouse Gas regulation
applies to 53-foot or longer box-type trailers, including dry-van and
refrigerated-van trailers, and all heavy-duty tractors that pull them
on California highways. Please visit the www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop
website for full details.”
What Diesel Regulations Apply to me?
Truck & Bus | Reporting
Tractor-Trailer GHG | Reporting
Drayage | Reporting
TRU | Reporting
Truck Stop Español
What regulations apply to me?
Diesel Hotline's FAQ's
ARB Loan Program
Carl Moyer Memorial Air Quality Standards Attainment Program
Goods Movement Emission Reduction Program (Prop1B)
On-Road Voucher Incentive Program (VIP)