NORTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

Rule 407 - Air Toxics “Hot Spots” (AB 2588) Fees
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RULE 407
AIR TOXICS “HOT SPOTS” (AB 2588) FEES

1.0 APPLICABILITY: This Rule shall apply to any stationary source litgcivhich commenced
operation prior to January 1 of the year in whibk fees are assessed pursuant to this Rule, and
which:

1.1  Manufactures, formulates, uses, or releases anyhef substances listed pursuant to
California Health & Safety Code (HSC) Section 443@1any other substance which reacts
to form a substance so listed, and which releaBdsris per year or greater of total organic
gases, particulate matter, sulfur oxides or nitnoggides from the most recent base year
inventory selected by the North Coast Unified Awality Management District (AQMD);
or,

1.2  Manufactures, formulates, uses, or releases &rieosubstances listed pursuant to HSC
Section 44321, or any other substance which réadtsrm a substance so listed, and which
releases less than 10 tons per year of total axggasges, particulate matter, sulfur oxides or
nitrogen oxides from the most recent base yearnitovg selected by the AQMD, and is
included in any class listed in Appendix E of thééZia and Guidelines Report incorporated
by reference in Section 93300.5 of Title 17 of @adifornia Code of Regulations.

2.0 ASSESSMENT OF FEES:The AQMD shall assess and collect the followingsfés performing
the State mandated Air Toxics “Hot Spots” Inforroatand Assessment Act of 1987. The AQMD
costs shall include but not be limited to reviewio¥entory plans and reports, review of risk
assessments, review of source test data, revieguaflrennial updates, calculation of relevant
exposure rates, charges from the AQMD’s use of Wtarsts to supplement AQMD staff, and costs
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associated with collecting the State’s portionhaf mandated fees. The State costs shall inclde th
reasonable anticipated costs which are incurredthigy California State Air Resources Board
(CARB) and the Office of Environmental Health Hak&ssessment.

2.1

2.2

2.3

Assessment of State FeesA fee covering State costs will be assessed to émahty
subject to the provisions of this Rule as deterchifog the facility program category in the
Air Toxics “Hot Spots” Fee Regulation adopted by R\ pursuant to HSC Section 44380
as set forth in Sections 90700 through 90705 ofeTit7 of the California Code of
Regulations, except that the total of AQMD and &tiates for a facility shall not exceed
$100.00 for facilities subject to Section 1.2 abtRule. Notwithstanding this limitation, if
State costs significantly exceed $100.00, as débexdrby the Air Pollution Control Officer
(APCO), the facility operator shall pay the actB#dte costs.

Assessment of AQMD FeegFacilities which meet Section 1.1 of this Rule): The
operator of each stationary source facility whiokets the criteria of Section 1.1 of this Rule
shall pay an annual air toxic assessment fee eamibaccording to the formula:

AQMD Air Toxic Assessment = (A)(m)

where A = Dollar per Ton value of pollutant for il#es meeting Section 1.1 criteria. The
dollar per ton value equals the total AQMD coststfeese facilities only, divided by their
total yearly emissions (in tons) of total organases, particulate matter, sulfur oxides, and
nitrogen oxides. Notwithstanding this Section,jeabfacilities shall pay a minimum $50.00
annual AQMD fee.

where m = Mass of facility’s total air emissiongtetmined by adding the emissions values
for each pollutant -- total organic gases, parétaimatter, sulfur oxides, and nitrogen oxides
-- having an emission value equal to or greaten th@ tons per calendar base year as
calculated by the APCO from source tests or eséthamissions data.

Assessment of AQMD FeegFacilities which meet Section 1.2 of this Rule): The
operator of each stationary source facility whiokets the criteria of Section 1.2 of this Rule
shall pay an AQMD flat fee of $50.00 per year. Wthstanding this Section, if AQMD
costs significantly exceed $50.00 for a facilitydnyear, as determined by the APCO, the
facility operator shall pay the actual AQMD costs.

3.0 EXEMPTIONS:

3.1

3.2
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Any stationary source for which the prioritizatisnores for cancer and non cancer health
effects are both equal to or less than one (1)edam the results of the most recent
emissions inventory or emissions inventory updatedl ©e exempt from payment of fees.

Except as specified in Section 2.1 of this Ruley atationary source for which the

prioritization scores for cancer and non cancetthestfects are both equal to or less than
10, based on the results of the most recent emissimventory or emissions inventory

update shall be assessed a AQMD fee of $125.0¢ éwerth year to cover AQMD costs of

processing the quadrennial emissions inventory tepda

407-2



4.0

5.0

6.0

3.3  Notwithstanding the requirements of Section 2 a$ tRule, with the AQMD Governing
Board approval, the APCO may waive the assessnfefges pursuant to this Rule for a
fiscal year if the APCO determines it is not coSedive to administer the fee collection
based on the amounts due and AQMD fee assessnm&rtwould unnecessarily add to the
fees assessed. Any such determination will resudttes waived for all facilities that would
otherwise be subject to this Rule for that fisazaly

BILLING: The AQMD shall notify and assess the operatoeadh stationary source facility
subject to the requirements of this Rule in writofghe fee due. The operator shall remit thetéee
the AQMD within 60 days after the receipt of th&itoassessment fee notice.

PENALTIES: Air toxic assessment fees not paid by the due datspecified in Section 4 of this
Rule shall be assessed a 25% late charge. If aratop fails to pay the fee within 120 days after
receipt of the initial fee assessment notice, tiggVl® may initiate permit revocation proceedings.
If any permit is revoked, it shall be reinstatedyampon full payment of the overdue fee plus any
late penalty, and a reinstatement fee of $50.@@ver administrative costs of reinstating the permi

ANNUAL ADOPTION OF FEES: Unless it amends this Rule, the AQMD Governingaigo
automatically readopts this fee Rule annually bgrapon of law, in compliance with Title 17,
California Code of Regulations, Section 90703.
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