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NORTHERN SIERRA AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

RULE 603 -- PERMIT FEES
(Amended 11/15/01)

On July 1 of each year, permit fees shall be adjusted in accordance with the
California Health and Safety Code Section 42311 and Revenue and
Taxation Code Section 2212 to account for changes in the California
Consumer Price Index - W for the preceding year.  The fees shall not exceed
the actual cost of District programs for the immediately preceding year.

1996-2001 CPI Adjustment Factor = 13.8%

A. Stationary Source Fees

1. Filing Fees

a. Except as provided below, every applicant for an
Authority to Construct/Permit to Operate shall pay a
filing fee of two hundred twenty-four dollars ($224) If an
application for a permit is canceled, or is denied, the
filing fee required herein shall not be refunded nor
applied to any subsequent application.

b. Every applicant for a Vapor Recovery permit shall pay a
filing fee of ninety dollars ($90).  If an application for a
permit is canceled, or is denied, the filing fee required
herein shall not be refunded nor applied to any
subsequent application.

2. Base Fee

Except as otherwise required for gasoline storage and
dispensing, every applicant for an annual stationary source
Permit to Operate shall pay an annual Base Fee of $75 per
permit, in addition to the filing fee prescribed herein.

3. Emissions Fees

Every applicant for an annual Permit to Operate shall pay an
emissions fee, in addition to the base fee and filing fee
prescribed herein, for annual emissions by the source.  Such
emissions shall be calculated by the District on the basis of
source test data, production data, and good engineering
practice.  Emissions shall be rounded to the nearest ton for the
purposes of fee calculation and assessed as set forth in the
following schedule:

Air Pollutant Dollars Per Ton
Total Suspended Particulate (TSP) $ 10.00

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) $ 10.00

(expressed as nitrogen dioxide)
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Air Pollutant Dollars Per Ton

Oxides of Sulfur (SOx) $ 13.00
(expressed as sulfur dioxide)

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC's) $ 10.00

Carbon Monoxide (CO) $   1.00

4. Evaluation Fee

Every applicant applying for an authority to construct or permit
to operate equipment for which a permit is required by the
rules of the Air Quality Management District, shall pay an
engineering evaluation/air quality impact assessment fee.  The
fee shall be calculated using staff hours expended and the
prevailing weighted labor rate of $70.00 per hour.

5. Analysis Fees

Whenever the Air Pollution Control Officer finds that analysis
of the emissions from any source is necessary to determine
the extent and amount of pollutants being discharged into the
atmosphere, which cannot be determined by visual
observation, he may order the collection of samples and the
physical analysis made or the collection of data and the
engineering analysis made by qualified personnel as
determined by the Air Pollution Control Officer.  The time
required for collecting samples, making the physical or
engineering analysis, and preparing the necessary reports, but
excluding time required in going to and from such premises,
may be charged against the owner or operator of said
premises in a reasonable sum to be determined by the Air
Pollution Control Officer, which said sum is not to exceed the
actual cost of such work.

6. Permit Fee Penalty

When the permit to operate is issued, it shall be accompanied
by a statement of the fee to be paid.  If the fee is not paid
within 30 days after the permit is issued, the fee shall be
increased by one-half the amount thereof, and the Air Pollution
Control Officer shall thereupon promptly notify the applicant of
the increased fee by mail.  If the increased fee is not paid
within 30 days after the permit is issued, the application shall
be deemed withdrawn and canceled.  The Air Pollution Control
Officer shall so notify the applicant by mail, and the permit
shall be void.

7. Permit Granted By Hearing Board

In the event that a Permit to Operate is granted by the Hearing
Board after denial by the Air Pollution Control Officer, the fee
provisions of this Rule shall still apply.
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8. Revising Permit Conditions

Where an application is filed for a Permit to Operate
exclusively involving revisions to the conditions of an existing
Permit to Operate, the applicant shall pay an evaluation fee in
addition to the amount of the filing fee required herein.  The
annual permit fee will be due and payable on the anniversary
date of the original permit.

9. OPEN

10. Source Test Plan Review and Evaluation Fees

Every person required to conduct a source test under the
auspices of Rule 515 - Provision of Sampling and Testing
Facilities shall pay a fee of $700 per test.  Said Fee shall be
submitted concurrently with the source test plan/protocol.  Said
Fee shall be used to offset the District's expenses of reviewing
the source test plan, attending the test and conducting Rule
202-Visible Emissions evaluations.

11. Benzene Emission Control Fee

Every applicant who is or may be subject to Rule 214, and/or
Rule 215 shall pay a fee to cover the District's cost of
implementing this state mandated program as follows:

a. Gasoline storage and dispensing registration fee of
$50.00 per year per facility (facilities under 480,000
gallons per year).

b. First year permit to operate fee of $ 52.00 per vapor
recovery nozzle.

c. Annual renewal (after first year) of permit to operate fee
of $30.00 per vapor recovery nozzle.

12. Soil Aeration/Remediation Fee
Every applicant for a soil aeration permit shall pay a permit
evaluation and review fee of $ 180.00 per application.  Any
Risk Assessment conducted by the District shall be billed in
accordance with Rule 603 A.4.

13. Major Sources Subject to Title V

Major sources subject to Title V of the Clean Air Act of 1990
shall pay a supplementary fee in accordance with the
requirements of Rule 605.

14. Miscellaneous Inspection Fee

Every applicant or person that requires an inspection for
miscellaneous (woodstove certification) reasons, purposes, or
certifications, not previously mentioned, shall pay a fee of 
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$35.00 per permit, application, or certification.

B. Open Burning Fees

The following fees apply to all open burning conducted within the
District.  Each type of open burning permit for which the applicable
fees have been paid shall be valid for 12 contiguous months from the
date of issuance, unless otherwise specified on the burn permit.

1. Agricultural Burning (as defined per Rule 300.A. and
conducted per Rule 304):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee $  0.65 per acre

2. Range Improvement Burning (as defined per Rule 300.M. and
conducted per Rule 305):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee $ 0.65 per (ten acres or

less exempt)

3. Forest Management Burning (as defined per Rule 300.I. and
conducted per Rule 306):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee $ 1.30 per acre (ten acres

or less exempt)

4. Wildlands Vegetation Management Burning (as defined per
Rule 300.R. and conducted per Rule 307):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee $ 0.65 per acre (ten acres

or less exempt)
5. Land Development Clearing Burning (as conducted per Rule

308):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee $ 1.30 per acre (one acre 

or less exempt).

6. Ditch, Road, and Right-of-Way Maintenance Burning (as
conducted per Rule 309):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee none

7. Hazard Reduction Burning (as conducted per Rule 310):

Burn Permit Base Fee $40.00
Acreage Fee none

8. Residential Maintenance Burning (as conducted per Rule
311):
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Burn Permit Base Fee none
Acreage Fee none

9. Special Permit to Burn on a "No-Burn-Day" (As conducted per
Rule 313.3):

Burn Permit Base Fee $50.00
Acreage Fee none

10. Permit fees are assessed and due when the permit is issued
or no later than 14 days from the issue date, except for project
burns conducted under Range Improvement Burning, Forest
Management Burning, and Wildlands Vegetation Management
Burning, which shall pay fees billed for actual burning
conducted between October 1 through September 30.  Any
fees not paid within 30 days of the due date shall be subject to
a late fee of an additional 50% of the original amount.


