
RULE 303 Miscellaneous Fees - Adopted 04/18/72; Amended 01/09/79, 06/01/93, 01/08/98, 
03/13/08, 03/12/15 

 
I. Emissions Testing 
 

If the Air Pollution Control Officer finds an analysis of emissions from any source is 
necessary to determine the extent and amount of pollutants being discharged into the 
atmosphere because it cannot be determined by visual observation, he may order collection 
and analysis of samples by qualified personnel of the Air Pollution Control District.  Time 
required for collecting and analyzing samples, preparing necessary reports, but excluding 
time required in going to and from the source, may be charged to the owner or operator of 
said source in a reasonable sum to be determined by the Air Pollution Control Officer.  
Such sum shall not exceed the actual cost of such work. 
 

II. Application Processing 
 

For issuance of an Authority to Construct or Agriculture Engine Registration required by 
Rule 201, Title V Permit to Operate pursuant to Rule 201.1, or a Banking Certificate 
pursuant to Rule 210.3, the applicant shall pay, in addition to any fees required by Rules 
301, or 301.1, a per hour Engineering Analysis Fee as specified in following table for the 
time required to process the application and the cost of all notices required by Rules 210.1, 
201.1 and 210.3. 
 

Per Hour Engineering Analysis Fee for applications 
received as of April 1st each year 

2014 2015 

$88 $100 
 
III. CEQA Documents Preparation 
 

If the Control District prepares environmental impact reports or negative declarations or 
parts there of as a lead or responsible agency under the California Environmental Quality 
Act (CEQA) for which a permit is required by the Rules and Regulations of the Control 
District, the applicant shall be assessed a fee to offset District costs pursuant to Section 
15045 of the California Office of Planning and Research's guidelines for implementation of 
the 1970 CEQA.  
 

IV. Portable Equipment Inspections 
 

If the Control District finds it necessary to inspect a portable engine (and/or associated 
equipment) registered with the California Air Resources Board pursuant to Section 41753 
of the California Health & Safety Code, it may charge an inspection fee as prescribed in 
Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations, Section 2461. 
 

V. Preliminary Consultation 
 
For a preliminary consultation regarding an issuance of an Authority to Construct required 
by Rule 201, Title V Permit to Operate pursuant to Rule 201.1, Request for Exemption 
pursuant to Rule 202 Section I.K.5-7, or a Banking Certificate pursuant to Rule 210.3, the 
applicant shall pay, in addition to any fees required by Rules 301, or 301.1, a per hour 
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Engineering Analysis Fee as specified in Table I for the time required to perform a 
preliminary consultation.   
 

VI. Priority Processing 
 
The applicant may request priority processing for an Authority to Construct or other permit 
activity.  The applicant shall pay a per hour Priority Processing Fee to process an 
application, in addition to the normal application and processing fees required by Rules 
301, 301.1 or 303(subsection II) for each hour that the application is processed on a paid 
overtime basis.  The Priority Processing Fee shall be 1.5 times an Air Quality Engineer II, 
step 5 hourly salary multiplied by the total actual overtime hours worked.  The hourly rate 
for priority processing of an application will be posted on the District’s website each April 
1st and the applicant must note on their application that they agree to the Priority Processing 
Fee and for how many hours of overtime processing they are willing to pay for in order to 
process the application. 
 

VII. Plan Review 
 

Reports, fugitive dust plans, technical documents and other plans requiring District official 
review or response shall be assessed a Plan Review Fee to offset District costs.  The Plan 
Review Fee shall be charged on an hourly basis and will be based the same as the 
Application Processing Fee in Section II of this rule, but in no case shall the total fee be 
less than $120.  If the plan requires annual or biennial review, the review fee will be a 
minimum of one hour of the Application Processing Fee in effect at the time of submittal.  
CEQA documents requiring an official review or response are not subject to this section. 
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