KERAPCD RULE 301.3 AIR TOXICS "HOT SPOTS" INFO & ASSESS. ACT          
LAST REVISED 07/12/93
          
          
          RULE 301.3 Air Toxics "Hot Spots" Information and Assessment Act 
                     Fees - Adopted 1/9/89, Renumbered 5/89, Amended 2/90, 
                     Amended 4/92, 7/12/93

          I.    Definitions

                For the purpose of this Rule, "facility" means any
                structure, appurtenance, installation, or operation
                associated with a source of air releases or potential
                air releases of a hazardous material as defined in
                Sections 44303 and 44304 of the California health and
                Safety Code.

          II.   Applicability

                This Rule applies to any facility manufacturing,
                formulating, using, or releasing any substance listed
                pursuant to Section 44321 of the California Health and
                Safety Code, or any other substance reacting to form a
                substance so listed; or any substance included in any
                current toxics use or toxics air emission survey,
                inventory, or report released or compiled by the Air
                Pollution Control District.

                This Rule does not apply to facilities listed in
                Section 44324 of the California Health and Safety Code.

          III.  Requirements

                Pursuant to Title 17, Sections 90700 - 90705 of the
                California Code of Regulations (Air Toxics "Hot Spots" Fee
                Regulation), the California Air Resources Board (CARB)
                shall annually adopt a fee schedule assessing a fee for
                each facility subject to this regulation.  This schedule
                shall identify and provide for recovery of both State and
                District costs to administer and implement the Act as
                required by Sections 44300 - 44394 of the California Health
                and Safety Code.  District costs submitted to the State
                Board for inclusion in the fee regulation for the
                applicable fiscal year shall be District Board-approved and
                adopted by resolution.

                Upon adoption of the fee schedule by CARB, the District
                shall notify in writing each affected facility of its fee
                due.

          IV.   Penalties:

                A.  Pursuant to Section 44380 of the California Health and
                    Safety Code, if the Air Toxics "Hot Spots" Information
                    and Assessment Fee is not paid within 60 days of receipt
                    of the Notice of Assessment, the facility shall be
                    charged a late penalty of 25% of the assessed fee.

                B.  Pursuant to Section 44380 of the California Health and
                    Safety Code, if the Air Toxics "Hot Spots" Information
                    and Assessment Fee is not paid within 120 days of
                    receipt of the Notice of Assessment, the District may
                    initiate permit revocation proceedings.

                C.  Pursuant to Section 44381 of the California Health and
                    Safety Code, any person intentionally failing to comply
                    with the requirements of this Rule or the Air Toxics
                    "Hot Spots" Information and Assessment Act is subject 
                    to a civil penalty of not less than $500.00 or more 
                    than $10,000.00 for each day the violation continues.