MOJAQMD RULE 309 STATIONARY SOURCE MONITORING DEVICE FEES
LAST REVISED 01/01/90

          (Amended: November 20, 1989)          (Adopted: January 1, 1990)                             
                                       
                                       Rule 309
                       Stationary Source Monitoring Device Fees


          (a)  GENERAL DESCRIPTION

               The  purpose  of this rule is to establish fees, pursuant to
               the California Health and Safety Code Section 42707, related
               to continuous emission  monitoring system (CEMS), continuous
               opacity monitoring system  (COMS) and/or continuous emission
               rate  monitoring  system  (CERMS),  to  cover  the  cost  of
               insuring  that  such  devices   are   functioning  properly.
               Activities covered by these fees include,  but  not  limited
               to,  inspection  of  CEMS, COMS, and/or CERMS, certification
               testing,  review  of  test   and   data   quality  assurance
               activities, assistance in investigating system  malfunctions
               and other activities related thereto.

          (b)  MONITORING DEVICE FEES

               Any   stationary   source  required  to  have  a  continuous
               monitoring device shall be assessed the following fees:

               (1)  Each owner of a  stationary source required by District
                    Permit  to  Operate,    District  Rule  or  Regulation,
                    California Health and Safety  code,  California Code of
                    Regulations,   United  States Environmental  Protection
                    Agency permit and/or Code of Federal Regulation to have
                    a  continuous monitoring  device  or  system  shall  be
                    subject to this fee.  This fee shall be assessed on the
                    actual  and  reasonable  time  required by the District
                    staff  to  perform  the above described  activities  to
                    insure the device is  functioning properly at a rate of
                    $55.00 per hour, billable  in  quarter hour increments.
                    Payment shall be within 30 days of written notification
                    by the District.

          (c)  LATE FEE

               If the monitoring device fees are not  paid  when  due,  the
               fees  shall  be  increased  as required by Rule 300, and the
               owner of the stationary source  shall  thereupon be mailed a
               second notice, which reflects the increased  fees.   If  the
               increased  fees  are  not  paid within 30 days of the second
               notice, the "Permits to Operate/Authority to Construct", for
               the equipment which emitted  the  emission  being monitored,
               will be revoked according to Health and Safety  Code Section
               42307. Reinstatement of such permits may require  compliance
               with  all  applicable Rules and Regulations of the District,
               and payment  of all fees and penalties specified within this
               Regulation.