PLAAPCD RULE 803 PENALTIES
LAST REVISED 10/19/93

                               Adopted 05-24-77
                          (Revised 5-20-85, 10-19-93)


          A.   Pursuant  to  Section  42400  of  the  California Health and
               Safety  Code any person who violates any  provision  of  any
               order, permit,  rule, or regulation of the State Board or of
               the  District, including  the  District  Hearing  Board,  is
               guilty  of  a  misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the
               County jail not  exceeding  six  (6)  months  or by fine not
               exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or both. Each day
               during any portion of which a violation occurs is a separate
               offense.

          B.   Pursuant  to  Section  42400.1 of the California Health  and
               Safety  Code  any  person  who   negligently  emits  an  air
               contaminant  in  violation  of any provision  of  any  rule,
               regulation, permit, or order  of  the  State Board or of the
               District pertaining to emission regulations  or  limitations
               is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the
               County  jail  not  exceeding  six (9) months or by fine  not
               exceeding  fifteen thousand dollars  ($15,000.00)  or  both.
               Each day during any portion of which a violation occurs is a
               separate offense.

          C.   Pursuant to  Section  42400.2  of  the California Health and
               Safety  Code  any  person  who  negligently   emits  an  air
               contaminant  in  violation  of  any  provision of any  rule,
               regulation, permit, or order of the State  Board  or  of the
               District  pertaining to emission regulations or limitations,
               and who knew  of  the emission and failed to take corrective
               action  within  a  reasonable   period  of  time  under  the
               circumstances,  is  guilty  of a misdemeanor  punishable  by
               imprisonment in the County jail not exceeding one year or by
               fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00)
               or both.  Each day during any  portion  of which a violation
               occurs is a separate offense.

          D.   Pursuant  to  Section 42400.3 of the California  Health  and
               Safety Code any person who willfully and intentionally emits
               an air contaminant  in  violation  of  any  provision of any
               rule, regulation, permit, or order of the State  Board or of
               the   District   pertaining   to   emission  regulations  or
               limitations  is  guilty  of  a  misdemeanor   punishable  by
               imprisonment in the County jail not exceeding one year or by
               fine  not  exceeding fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00)  or
               both.  Each  day  during  any  portion  of which a violation
               occurs is a separate offense.

          E.   In addition to the penalties specified in  Subsections  (A),
               (B),  and  (C) the cost of putting out any unauthorized open
               outdoor fires  may  be  imposed on any person violating RULE
               301 or 302.

          F.   Pursuant  to  Sections 42402  and  42403,  et  seq.  of  the
               California Health  and  Safety  Code any person who violates
               any provision of any order, permit,  rule,  or regulation of
               the State Board or of the District, including  the  District
               Hearing  Board,  is  liable  for a civil penalty of not more
               than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).   Each day during any
               portion of which a violation occurs is a separate offense.
          G.   Pursuant  to  Sections 42403 and 42402.1 of  the  California
               Health and Safety  Code  any person who negligently emits an
               air contaminant in violation  of  any provision of any rule,
               regulation, permit, or order of the  State  Board  or of the
               District  pertaining  to emission regulations or limitations
               is  liable for a civil penalty  of  not  more  than  fifteen
               thousand  dollars ($15,000.00).  Each day during any portion
               of which a violation occurs is a separate offense.
          H.   Pursuant to  Sections  42403  and  42402.2 of the California
               Health and Safety Code any person who  negligently  emits an
               air  contaminant in violation of any provision of any  rule,
               regulation,  permit,  or  order of the State Board or of the
               District pertaining to emission  regulations or limitations,
               and who knew of the emission and failed  to  take corrective
               action  within  a  reasonable  period  of  time  under   the
               circumstances,  is  liable  for  a civil penalty of not more
               than twenty-five thousand dollars  ($25,000.00).   Each  day
               during any portion of which a violation occurs is a separate
               offense.

          I.   Pursuant  to  Sections  42403  and 42402.3 of the California
               Health  and  Safety  Code  any  person   who  willfully  and
               intentionally emits an air contaminant in  violation  of any
               provision  of any rule, regulation, permit, or order of  the
               State Board  or  of  the  District  pertaining  to  emission
               regulations or limitations is liable for a civil penalty  of
               not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00).  Each day
               during any portion of which a violation occurs is a separate
               offense.

          J.   Every  person  who intentionally or negligently violates any
               order for abatement  issued  by  the  District  pursuant  to
               Section  42450  of the California Health and Safety Code, by
               the District Hearing  Board pursuant to Section 41450 of the
               California Health and Safety  Code,  or  by  the State Board
               pursuant  to  Section  41505  of  the California Health  and
               Safety Code is liable for a civil penalty  of  not more than
               twenty-five  thousand dollars ($25,000.00) for each  day  in
               which the violation occurs.

          K.   Any person who  violates  a  requirement  of  Title V of the
               Federal  Clean  Air  Act,  as amended in 1990, or Rule  507,
               FEDERAL  OPERATING  PERMIT  PROGRAM,  is  subject  to  civil
               penalties in a maximum amount  of not less than ten thousand
               dollars ($10,000.00) per day per  violation.  Criminal fines
               shall be recoverable in a maximum amount  of  not  less than
               ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00) per day per violation.