

Enforcement Division

Advisory

COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE IDLING

Number 333

February 1, 2006 Revised February 15, 2008

LIMIT ON DIESEL-FUELED COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE IDLING

The purpose of this advisory is to inform you that the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has established a statewide regulation to limit diesel-fueled commercial motor vehicle idling, that went into effect February 1, 2005. The following information will enable you to comply with the idling regulation and report violations.

The driver of a diesel-fueled motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) greater than 10,000 pounds is prohibited from idling the vehicle's primary engine for more than 5 minutes at any location, and may not operate a diesel-fueled auxiliary power system (APS) for more than 5 minutes at any location within 100 feet of a restricted area (residences).

Changes to the regulation as of January 1, 2008:

- Drivers are now prohibited from idling a vehicle's primary engine for more than 5 minutes at any location to power a heater, air conditioner, or any ancillary equipment during sleeping or resting in a sleeper berth.
- The minimum penalty for an idling violation is now \$300 per violation.
- A hold on the vehicle's registration may be placed for Notices of Violation that are not cleared.

Idling is not restricted in the following situations:

- While in the midst of traffic; to ascertain safe operating conditions of the vehicle; for testing, servicing (cleaning of commercial vehicles/trucks/buses is not considered servicing), repair, or diagnostic purposes; to operate equipment needed by persons with disabilities; queuing (when beyond 100 feet of a restricted area); or for operating the primary engine to run a power take off (PTO) device to power a pump, crane, concrete mixer, etc.
- If a vehicle has an engine meeting the optional NOx idling emission standard (as
 determined by ARB), is equipped with a special hood label, and the vehicle is beyond 100
 feet of a restricted area.

Restrictions on the use of diesel-fueled auxiliary power systems:

- A diesel-fueled APS operated on a vehicle equipped with a 2007 or newer engine must be
 equipped with a verified Level 3 particulate matter control device or have its exhaust routed
 through the particulate matter control system of the primary drive engine. In addition, the
 vehicle must also have a special hood label.
- Any certified diesel-fueled APS, with or without additional particulate matter control, may be used on vehicles equipped with 2006 and older primary drive engines.

Drivers found in violation of this regulation are subject to a minimum civil penalty of \$300 and possible criminal penalties, as specified in the Health and Safety Code.

If you have questions about this regulation, would like a copy of the regulation, or would like more information on idle reduction technologies, please contact the California Air Resources Board at 1-800-END-SMOG (1-800-363-7664) or visit our idling webpage at www.arb.ca.gov/noidle.

To report a violation, please contact 1-800-END-SMOG.