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WRITTEN IDLING POLICY REQUIREMENTS FOR OWNERS OF IN-USE OFF-ROAD DIESEL 
VEHICLES 

EFFECTIVE 3/01/09 
 
The Air Resources Board (ARB) has a regulation for In-Use Off-Road Diesel Vehicles (Off-road 
regulation), which became effective under California law on June 15, 2008.  The Off-road regulation is 
intended to reduce harmful emissions from diesel powered construction and mining vehicles 
operating in California.  Among other things, the Off-road regulation imposes idling limitations, which 
became effective as of June 15, 2008.  The Off-road regulation also requires that medium and large 
fleets (those with over 2,500 horsepower of affected off-road vehicles) have a written idling policy and 
make it available to operators of such vehicles.   
 
This written idling policy requirement is effective and enforceable as of March 1, 2009, and can be 
found in title 13, California Code of Regulations as follows: 
 
§2449(d)(2)(B) Written Idling Policy 
 
As of March 1, 2009, medium and large fleets must also have a written idling policy that is made 
available to operators of the vehicles and informs them that idling is limited to 5 consecutive minutes 
or less. 
 
Non-Compliance:  Health and Safety Code, Section 39674 (a) authorizes civil penalties for the 
violation of the programs for the regulation of toxic air contaminants not to exceed one thousand 
dollars ($1,000) for each day in which the violation occurs. 
 
Health and Safety Code, Section 39674 (b) authorizes civil penalties for the violation of the programs 
for the regulation of toxic air contaminants not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for each day 
in which the violation occurs. 
 
As a matter of policy, fleets found to be missing the required written idling policy will be assessed a 
minimum civil penalty up to $10,000 a day.  Failure to submit a written idling policy within 30 days 
from the first offense will result in additional per day penalties.  The standard for assessing penalties 
is one of strict liability.  
 
An enforcement advisory concerning the idling limits is available at 
www.arb.ca.gov/enf/advs/advs377.pdf  

To: Owners, Operators, Renters 
or Lessees of In-Use Off-

Road Vehicles in California 

http://www.arb.ca.gov/enf/advs/advs377.pdf


 
For further information about the Off-road regulation, please visit our website at: 
www.arb.ca.gov/ordiesel. 
 
Fact sheets and guidance documents, including suggested content of the written idling policy, are 
available at www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/ordiesel/knowcenter.htm, and the full text of the regulation is 
available at www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/ordiesel/reglanguage.htm.   
 
For questions regarding enforcement of the Off-road regulation, please contact  
Mr. Christopher Patno at (626) 450-6173 or christopher.patno@arb.ca.gov.  
   
If you have questions about the Off-road regulation or our outreach efforts, please contact  
Mr. Thien Tran at (916) 322-0517 or Thien.Tran@arb.ca.gov. 
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