Contra Costa County Fleet Management Case Settles for $6,900
This page last reviewed December 28, 2011
In March, 2011 Contra Costa County Fleet Management agreed to pay $6,900.00 in penalties for violating air quality regulations: $5,175.00 will go to the California Air Pollution Control Fund, which provides funding for projects and research to improve California's air quality; $1,725.00 will go to Peralta Community College District to fund emission education classes conducted by participating California community colleges, under the California Council for Diesel Education and Technology (CCDET) program.
An investigation by the Air Resources Board (ARB) showed that Contra Costa County Fleet Management failed to properly self-inspect their diesel trucks to assure the trucks met state smoke emission standards. ARB documented violations as they related to the Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP). To settle the case, Contra Costa County Fleet Management agreed to the $6,900.00 penalty and to comply with the Periodic Smoke Inspection programs, and other ARB programs.