$24,311 in Fines Paid by Sportsman's Guide

This page finalized October 1, 2004


From a review of the Sportsman's Guide catalog, the Mobile Source Enforcement Section (MSES) identified motorized kick-scooters equipped with non-California certified engines. In response to a cease and desist order, the Sportsman's Guide submitted their California sales records, from which MSES identified 319 units of motorized, kick scooters and non-preempted, outdoor power products equipped with non-compliant engines. To avoid further sales of non-compliant products, the Sportsman's Guide has coded their system and instructed their telephone-order staff to decline orders for shipment of non-compliant product to California. Sportsman's Guide settled for $24,311.00 on August 24, 2004.