West Coast Waste Case Settles for $4,125
This page last reviewed December 20, 2011
In November 2011 West Coast Waste agreed to pay $4,125.00 in penalties for violating air quality regulations: $3,093.75 will go to the California Air Pollution Control Fund, which provides funding for projects and research to improve California's air quality; $1,031.25 will go to Peralta Community College District to fund emission education classes conducted by participating California community colleges, under the California Council for Diesel Education and Technology (CCDET) program.
An investigation by the Air Resources Board (ARB) showed that West Coast Waste failed to properly self-inspect their diesel trucks to insure the trucks met state smoke emission standards. ARB documented violations as they related to the Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP). To settle the case, West Coast Waste agreed to the $4,125.00 penalty and to comply with the Periodic Smoke Inspection program and other ARB programs.