
FAQ’s concerning the Border-Inspection-Program 
 
 

Q:     What is the purpose of the new AB 1009 regulations? 
 
A:     These new regulations are designed to ensure that heavy-duty commercial 

vehicles operating on California roads are equipped with engines that meet U.S. 
emission standards. 

 
Q:    Does my truck engine need an emission control label? 
 
A:     Yes, every truck operating in California needs a clear and readable engine 

emission control label (ECL). 
 
Q:     Who inspects my emission control label? 
 
A:    The California Air Resources Board has been given the authority through the       

state legislature to inspect all heavy-duty commercial vehicles for the engine 
certification status via the emission control label.   

 
        However, truck owners and/or maintenance personnel should inspect their 

trucks for the presence of a clear and readable engine emission control 
label as a precaution to being stopped for inspection. 

 
Q:     Will I be fined if the ECL is missing or if it is not readable? 
 
A: Yes, a citation will be issued which carries an $800 civil penalty.  The $800 

civil penalty is really two penalties; one for the missing ECL ($300) and the 
second for operating a non-compliant engine ($500).  At the time of 
inspection engines that are missing their ECL will be assumed to be non-
U.S. compliant engines.   

 
        However for the first year only, the full $800 penalty can be waived within 

45-days of issuance of the citation if evidence is provided to the ARB 
showing that the engine has been re-labeled and that the engine is 
compliant with U.S. standards.    

 
Q:    Who may replace my engine label?  
 
A:    Only authorized dealers can replace an engine label. The identity and emission 

characteristics of your truck must be verified through an authorized dealer to 
ensure that the label information matches the engine hardware.   

 
Q:    Do I still need to do a smoke emission test if requested? 
 



A:     Yes, the regulation is an addition to the existing smoke regulation therefore 
the smoke emission test is still required. 

 
Q:    Can I still operate in California if my truck engine is not certified to meet  
        U. S. standards? 
 
A:     No.  Trucks found operating in California equipped with engines that don’t 

meet U.S. standards will be issued a $500 penalty that cannot be waived. 
 
 
Q:     What do the new requirements mean to the trucking industry? 
 
A:     There are two issues that truck operators need to be concerned with – 

operation of trucks equipped with engines that do not meet U.S. standards 
and engines that are missing or have obscured emission control labels.  
Recent surveys indicate that about 1 percent of the trucks operating on 
California’s roads have non-compliant engines while 30 percent of the 
trucks are missing their emission control labels.  Both of these conditions 
can result in significant fines to the truck owner.  

 
Q:    Can trucks with non-compliant engines and missing engine labels avoid 

being cited if they stay with in the 20-mile commercial zone? 
 
A:    No.  Trucks that don’t meet U.S. standards and/or have a missing emission 

control label will be subject to inspection and citation throughout the state, 
including the 20-mile commercial zone.  

 
Q:    What vehicles are subject to these new requirements? 
 
A:     All heavy-duty commercial vehicles that are diesel powered and have 

gross vehicle weight ratings (GVWR) greater than 10,000 pounds.   
 
 
Q:     Who may I contact for questions regarding ARB’s border inspection program? 
 
A:     Contact Don Chernich at (916) 322-7620. 
 
 
 
 


