Below is the List Serve Post you selected to display.
hfcdiy -- Notice of California Regulation concerning Small Containers of Automotive Refrigerant Posted: 22 Jun 2011 11:12:27
In January 2009, the California Air Resources Board (ARB) adopted a regulation to reduce refrigerant emissions from the Do-It-Yourself (DIY) servicing of air conditioners installed in cars and pickup trucks. The servicing is performed using R-134a refrigerant sold in small containers (between 2 ounces and 2 pounds). R-134a is a highly potent greenhouse gas with a global warming potential 1300 times higher than carbon dioxide. This regulation became law in California on October 1, 2009, and became effective on January 1, 2010. Only automotive refrigerant products certified by ARB may be sold in California. The regulation requires manufacturers to include self-sealing valves on all small containers of automotive refrigerant in order to capture the remaining refrigerant after recharge. At the time of purchase, the DIY consumer pays a $10 refundable deposit to the retailer for each container. In order to get the refund, consumers are required to return the used, undamaged container(s) within 90 days with a receipt. Retailers and distributors collect the used containers for return to a recycling facility with the assistance of the product manufacturer. Fact sheets and a regulatory advisory summarizing the requirements or duties of manufacturers, retailers, distributors and consumers along with additional information are available at the following link: www.arb.ca.gov/cc/hfc-mac/hfcdiy/hfcdiy.htm