What's New List Serve Post Display

What's New List Serve Post Display

Below is the List Serve Post you selected to display.
newsrel -- Air board honors three clean air heroes

Posted: 30 Jul 2007 14:18:41
Please consider the following Air Resources Board press release
announcing the winners of the annual Haagen-Smit Clean Air
Release 07-27
July 30, 2007

Genny Paauwe
(916) 322-2990 

Air board honors three clean air heroes

SACRAMENTO -- The California Air Resources Board honored three
environmental leaders today for their outstanding, cutting-edge
work in the public policy arena to improve air quality
throughout the state and beyond.

James E. Hansen, Ph.D., Alan C. Lloyd, Ph.D., and Ms. Fran
Pavley received the prestigious Haagen-Smit Award, which is
given each year to recognize significant career efforts in at
least one of several air quality categories, including research,
environmental policy, science and technology, public education,
or community service.

"With the leadership of world-renowned individuals such as those
honored today, California is steadily reducing smog, air toxics,
and greenhouse gas emissions that harm the environment and
sicken millions each year," said ARB Chairman Mary D. Nichols.
"Their indefatigable spirit and commitment to air quality and
climate change issues has a positive world-wide public health

Hansen, the Director of NASA's Goddard Institute for Space
Studies located in New York City, was honored for his work on
atmospheric science. He is also Adjunct Professor in Earth and
Environmental Sciences at Columbia University. Since the late
1970s, he has worked on studies and computer simulations of the
Earth's climate, to better understand the human impact on global

Lloyd, President of the International Council on Clean
Transportation, was recognized for his leadership in clean air
technologies. Before his current position, he led the California
Environmental Protection Agency as its secretary from 2004 to
2006 and the ARB as its chairman for five years, promulgating
programs that spurred development of new technologies and new
approaches to emission controls and energy management.

Pavley, now with the Natural Resources Defense Council, was
lauded for her contributions to environmental policy.
Previously, she served three terms in the California State
Assembly (2000-2006) and chaired the Air & Water Quality
Committee and the Hydrogen & Other Alternative Fuels Committee.

Pavley sponsored landmark legislation on global warming that has
become a model for other states and countries to follow. Notably,
she authored AB 1493 to cut greenhouse gas emissions from motor
vehicles by 30 percent, and co-authored California's Global
Warming Solutions Act of 2006 (AB 32), the nation's first
mandated climate change action to cap emissions at 1990 levels.
California faces the nation's most serious air quality
challenge. Despite unprecedented growth, California's air
quality has dramatically improved over the last 50 years.

The California Air Resources Board has sponsored the Haagen-Smit
Clean Air Award since 2001. For a list of past recipients, please
see: http://www.arb.ca.gov/docs/hsawards/hswinners/hswinners.htm

The Air Resources Board is a department of the California
Environmental Protection Agency. ARB's mission is to promote and
protect public health, welfare, and ecological resources through
effective reduction of air pollutants while recognizing and
considering effects on the economy. The ARB oversees all air
pollution control efforts in California to attain and maintain
health based air quality standards.


ARB What's New