What's New List Serve Post Display

What's New List Serve Post Display

Below is the List Serve Post you selected to display.
newsrel -- Three receive California’s premier air quality award

Posted: 22 Apr 2014 15:51:13
Please consider the following news release from the California
Air Resources Board: http://bit.ly/1nFjapj

April 22, 2014



Melanie Turner
(916) 322-2990

Three receive California’s premier air quality award

2013 Haagen-Smit awards recognize air quality achievements in
environmental policy, research and science

SACRAMENTO - The California Air Resources Board is set on
Thursday to honor the winners of the 2013 Haagen-Smit Clean Air
Awards, California’s premier award recognizing individuals who
have made outstanding contributions to improving air quality.

“These three individuals have made a lasting contribution to
people’s health and well-being, both in California and abroad,”
said ARB Chairman Mary D. Nichols. “They have demonstrated a
sustained commitment to protecting public health throughout their
long and distinguished careers and I am honored to personally
present each of them with California’s premier award for
outstanding achievements in air quality.”

The Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards — the “Nobel Prize”  in air
quality achievement — are given annually to individuals who have
made significant lifetime contributions toward improving air
quality and climate change science, technology and policy,
furthering the protection of public health. This year’s award
ceremony is set for 3:30 p.m. Thursday, April 24, in Sacramento.

The 2013 recipients are:

Dr. Barbara Finlayson-Pitts of the University of California

Dr. Barbara Finlayson-Pitts is a distinguished professor of
chemistry at UC Irvine. She is being recognized for her
outstanding research and teaching in the field of atmospheric
chemistry. She is one of the most important contemporary
atmospheric chemists and a leading world expert in atmospheric
photochemistry. Her research has been inspired and driven by air
pollution issues. She is best known to the scientific community
for co-authoring two widely acclaimed and influential books on
atmospheric chemistry.

Dr. James Lents of the International Sustainable Systems Research

Dr. James Lents is being recognized for his leadership in
environmental policy since the 1970s, from his contributions to
the Clean Air Act for California and amendments to the Federal
Clean Air Act in 1990 to his role as executive director for South
Coast Air Quality Management District during the 1980s and 90s,
where he led the agency to produce the first regional plan
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that
demonstrated the steps needed to attain air quality standards.
His work in Chattanooga, Tenn., where his career began, inspired
a U.S. EPA film and a Newsweek article highlighting what one city
did to clean up its particulate pollution. Dr. Lents is president
of the International Sustainable Systems Research Center, a small
but highly effective policy shop he founded in 2003.

Mr. Teruyuki Ohno of the Japan Renewable Energy Foundation

Mr. Teruyuki Ohno of Tokyo, Japan, has been an innovative policy
leader for the past 35 years. Programs successfully launched
include: ‘Operation No Diesel,’ Japan’s first diesel retrofit
program, and the Tokyo Cap-and-Trade Program, Japan’s first
carbon trading program. Mr. Ohno is executive director of the
nonprofit Japan Renewable Energy Foundation, and serves as a
lecturer at Tokyo University on sustainability topics. 

Event Details
Date:    Thursday, April 24, 2014
Time:    3:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Place:   California Environmental Protection Agency headquarters,
Byron Sher Auditorium, 1001 I Street, Sacramento, California

The awards recognize career accomplishments in at least one of
these air quality categories: research, environmental policy,
science and technology, public education and community service.
In light of the global connection between air quality and climate
change, the scope of the Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards program is
now international, with a focus on climate change science and

The Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award was named after Dr. Arie
Haagen-Smit, ARB’s first chairman, known to many as the “father”
of air pollution control. His research concluded that most of
California's smog resulted from photochemistry — the reaction of
sunlight with industrial and motor vehicle exhaust to create
ozone. This breakthrough became the foundation upon which today’s
air pollution standards are based. In recognition of this
contribution, Dr. Haagen-Smit received the nation’s highest
scientific honor, the National Medal of Science, in 1973. The
Haagen-Smit award winners continue his legacy of advancing air
pollution science and forging the way for effective control

To learn more about the award, click here: http://bit.ly/1aEO64h

For a list of all past award winners, click here:

California is in a drought emergency.
Visit www.SaveOurH2O.org for water conservation tips.

ARB What's New