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A. INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW  
 
In 2007, Governor Schwarzenegger signed into law the California Alternative and 
Renewable Fuel, Vehicle Technology, Clean Air, and Carbon Reduction Act of 2007 
(AB 118, Statutes of 2007, Chapter 750).  AB 118 created the Air Quality Improvement 
Program (AQIP), a voluntary incentive program administered by the Air Resources 
Board (ARB or Board), to fund clean vehicle and equipment projects, air quality 
research, and workforce training.   
 
As required in Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 44274(a), the Board adopted 
regulatory guidelines in 2009 for AQIP.  The Guidelines for the AB 118 Air Quality 
Improvement Program (Guidelines) define the overall administrative requirements and 
policies and procedures for program implementation based on the framework 
established in statute.  Central to the Guidelines is the requirement for a Board-
approved annual funding plan developed with public input.  The funding plan is each 
year’s blueprint for expending AQIP funds appropriated to the ARB in the annual State 
Budget.  The funding plan focuses AQIP on supporting development and deployment of 
the advanced technologies needed to meet California’s longer-term, post 2020 air 
quality goals.   
 
In June 2014, ARB approved the Fiscal Year 2014-15 Funding Plan for the Air Quality 
Improvement Program and Low Carbon Transportation Greenhouse Gas Reduction 
Fund Investments (FY 2014-15 Funding Plan)1, providing up to $117.18 million in 
funding for CVRP and the Increased Incentives for Public Fleets in Disadvantaged 
Communities (Public Fleet Pilot Project).  The $117.18 million is comprised of up to $5 
million in AQIP funding, and $114.32 million in funding from the Low Carbon 
Transportation Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund (GGRF) for CVRP.  In addition, up to 
$2.86 million in funding from GGRF is available for public fleets located in or serving 
disadvantaged communities.  CVRP is intended to encourage and accelerate zero- and 
near-zero emission, on-road light-duty vehicle deployment and technology innovation.  
This project provides rebates to qualified individuals, businesses, public agencies and 
entities, and nonprofit organizations for the purchase or lease of eligible vehicles.  
CVRP benefits the citizens of California by providing immediate air pollution emission 
reductions while stimulating development and deployment of the next generation of 
zero-emission and plug-in hybrid electric light-duty vehicles.  It is administered and 
implemented through a partnership between ARB and a Rebate Administrator 
(Administrator), selected via a competitive ARB grant solicitation. The majority of project 
funds are for rebates for purchasers or lessees of new eligible on-road vehicles.       
     
The Implementation Manual for the FY 2014-15 Clean Vehicle Rebate Project 
(Implementation Manual), in conjunction with the Guidelines, and the Funding Plan 
identify the minimum requirements for implementing CVRP.  The Implementation 

                                            
1 The approved FY 2014-15 Funding Plan is available at: 
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aqip/fundplan/fundplan.htm  
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Manual may be periodically updated as needed to clarify project requirements and 
improve project effectiveness.  The Implementation Manual, including any updates, will 
be posted on ARB’s website at http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aqip/cvrp.htm and on the 
CVRP webpage at www.energycenter.org/CVRP . 
 
This document constitutes the Implementation Manual for CVRP for FY 2014-15.  
Definitions of key program parameters are located in Section D of this manual.  

1. Project Overview 
 
CVRP enables the purchaser or lessee of an eligible vehicle to receive a rebate of up to 
$5,000 for fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs), up to $2,500 for battery-electric vehicles 
(BEVs), up to $1,500 for plug-in hybrid electric light-duty vehicles (PHEVs), and up to 
$900 for neighborhood electric vehicles (NEVs) and zero-emission motorcycles (ZEMs), 
contingent upon availability of funds.  In addition, the Public Fleet Pilot Project offers 
rebates of up to $15,000 for FCEVs, $10,000 for BEVs, $5,250 for PHEVs, and up to 
$900 for NEVs and ZEMs.  After the purchaser takes possession of and registers the 
eligible vehicle or, if leased, the lessee has obtained registration on the eligible vehicle, 
they are qualified to apply for the rebate.  Applications are available online via the 
CVRP website or by contacting the Administrator directly by email at 
cvrp@energycenter.org or calling (866) 984-2532. 
 
Information on CVRP is available to the public and other interested parties via the 
CVRP website.  The CVRP website www.energycenter.org/CVRP, is operated and 
maintained by the Administrator, and includes an up-to-date list of eligible vehicles,  
rebate amounts for each vehicle, online rebate applications, and all supporting 
documentation and forms applicable to CVRP, a real-time running total of available 
funds remaining in the program, as well as amount of rebates by vehicle type.  This 
website allows the program to be “user-friendly” while providing project transparency.      
 
Key milestones for CVRP development and implementation for FY 2014-15 are 
identified in Table 1. 

 
 Table 1:  CVRP Development and Implementation Timeline for FY 2014-15* 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

    *This timeline may be changed at ARB’s sole discretion. 

Action Item Date or Time Period 

Selection of Rebate Administrator  August 2014 

Rebate Administrator develops project webpage, 
conducts outreach.  Implementation Manual and 
online application finalized.  

August 2014 and ongoing 

FY 2014-15 vehicle funding becomes available. 
Online applications available at the CVRP 
webpage. 

September 2014 
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B. VEHICLE ELIGIBILITY 
 
1. Vehicle Categories 
 
This section discusses the categories of vehicles eligible for grant funding under CVRP 
and the specific criteria that a vehicle model must meet to be considered eligible.  
Aftermarket plug-in hybrid electric and battery electric vehicle conversions are not 
eligible for CVRP funding.  Vehicle models will be approved by ARB on a model year 
basis and placed on a List of Eligible Vehicle Models for rebates.  A continuously 
updated list of eligible vehicles and rebate amounts will be maintained on the 
designated CVRP website.  Vehicle manufacturers must submit a Vehicle Eligibility 
Application to ARB to have their vehicles considered for rebate eligibility.  The vehicle 
manufacturer is responsible for providing all the required documentation described on 
the application.  ARB will coordinate with the vehicle manufacturers to request any 
additional documentation needed for eligibility determinations.  ARB is responsible for 
providing the Administrator the current list of eligible vehicles and the corresponding 
rebate amounts.  
 
There are four categories of vehicles eligible for grant funding under CVRP:  
(a) light-duty zero-emission vehicles, (b) light-duty plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, (c) 
neighborhood electric vehicles, and (d) zero-emission motorcycles. 
 
a. Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicles (ZEVs) 

Vehicles in the ZEV category include electric-drive, battery electric vehicles 
(BEVs) and fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs) up to 8,500 pounds gross vehicle 
weight rating (GVWR).  For the purposes of CVRP, ZEVs are further categorized 
into six subcategories or Types (I, I.5, II, III, IV, and V) based on vehicle range 
and refueling capability as defined in the California Zero-Emission Vehicle 
Regulation sections 1962 and 1962.1, Title 13, California Code of Regulations 
(CCR).  The range extended battery electric vehicle (BEVx) is a new regulatory 
vehicle category approved by the Board in January 2012, and initially approved 
by the Board for inclusion as a zero-emission vehicle type in the CVRP in June 
2012 as part of the FY 2012-13 AQIP Funding Plan approval.  In the FY 2014-15 
Funding Plan, the BEVx continues to be an approved eligible vehicle category.    

 
b. Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs)  

PHEVs are hybrid electric vehicles that have zero emission vehicle range 
capability, an on-board electrical energy storage device, an on-board charger, 
and are rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical 
source.  Rebate-eligible PHEVs include only those meeting Super Ultra Low 
Emission Vehicle (SULEV) tailpipe-emission standards, have a 15-year 150,000 
mile warranty on emission-control components, and have zero evaporative 
emissions from its fuel system. 
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c. Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs) 
Vehicles in the NEV category are low speed zero-emission vehicles.  California 
Vehicle Code (CVC) section 385 defines a low speed vehicle as a motor vehicle 
with four wheels on the ground, having an unladen weight of 3,000 pounds or 
less, and is capable of propelling itself at a minimum speed of 20 miles per hour 
with a maximum speed of 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface.  NEVs 
may be legally operated on public streets with posted maximum speed limits of 
35 mile per hour or lower.  Low speed vehicles are subject to the Department of 
Transportation (DOT) safety standard (49 CFR 571.500) that requires ten 
specific items of safety equipment.   

 
d. Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs) 

Vehicles in the ZEM category include zero emission vehicles designed to travel 
on three wheels and two-wheel electric motorcycles meeting the provisions of 
CVC section 400 and the ZEM evaluation procedures. 

2. Vehicle Eligibility Criteria 
 
Vehicles must meet the following criteria to be eligible for a rebate: 
 
a. Be new-   

With the exception of vehicles described in section 2 (a)(i), the vehicle must be a 
new vehicle as defined in CVC section 430.2  The Original Equipment 
Manufacturer (OEM) or its authorized licensee must manufacture the vehicle.  
Vehicles considered new vehicles solely for determination of compliance with 
state emissions standards pursuant to Health and Safety Code, Article 1.5, 
Prohibited Transactions, (sections 43150-43156) and CVC section 4000.2, 
Registration of Out-of-State Vehicles, are not eligible vehicles.  If the vehicle is 
not new, is pre-owned, has been re-leased, is the subject of a lease assumption, 
or has been transferred into California after previously having been registered 
out-of-state, the vehicle is not eligible for a rebate through CVRP.  If the required 
supporting documentation does not satisfactorily prove that the vehicle is new, 
other documentation may be requested to satisfy this requirement, at the 
Administrator’s discretion. 
 
Vehicles previously used as dealership floor models and test drive vehicles are 
eligible for the rebate only if the vehicles have not been previously registered with 
the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  The Administrator will use 
specific procedures when processing rebate applications for floor model, test 
drive, unwind and rollback vehicles. 

                                            
2 Per section 430 of the California Vehicle Code, a "new vehicle" is a vehicle constructed entirely from 
new parts that have never been the subject of a retail sale, or registered with the California Department of 
Motor Vehicles, or registered with the appropriate agency or authority of any other state, District of 
Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, or foreign State, province, or country.  
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i. Rollback and Unwind Vehicle Provision 

A “rollback” occurs when a buyer purchases or leases a vehicle then returns it 
shortly after purchase, or when a buyer’s financing is disapproved.  An 
“unwind” occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is 
completed, but the sale was not consummated and the buyer never took 
delivery.  Vehicles determined by the Administrator to be unrebated rollback 
or unwind vehicles will be eligible to receive a rebate.  Additional 
documentation from the dealership may be required. 

 
b. Be ARB approved/certified-  

With the exception of ZEMs, the vehicle model must be certified by ARB as a 
new, zero-emission or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle as defined in the California 
ZEV Regulation, section 1962.1(d)(5)(A), Title 13, CCR for 2009 and subsequent 
model years.  The manufacturer must also certify that the vehicle model complies 
with all applicable federal safety standards for new motor vehicles and new motor 
vehicle equipment issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA).  FMVSS are found in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR) Part 571.  If a written statement and documentation have been previously 
provided to ARB in the course of applying for the ARB certification of the vehicle 
model, no additional written statement is required.  
 

c. Meet prescribed performance, emissions, and service thresholds:  
 

i. ZEVs must be certified as Type I, I.5, II, III, IV, or V ZEVs as defined in the in 
the California Zero-Emission Vehicle Regulation sections 1962 and 1962.1, 
Title 13, CCR. 
 

ii. PHEVs must meet the Transitional Zero Emission Vehicle definition in the 
California ZEV Regulation section 1962.2(c) Title 13, CCR, including SULEV, 
evaporative emissions, onboard diagnostics, extended warranty, 
zero-emission Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT), and advanced componentry 
Partial Zero-Emission Electric Vehicle (PZEV) allowance standards as 
defined in section 1962.1(c). 

 
iii. NEVs must meet the “Neighborhood Electric Vehicle” definition in Section D 

of this Implementation Manual, have been evaluated for baseline 
performance in accordance with United States Department of Energy  
(U.S. DOE) NEV America guidelines (successful completion of the NEV 
America assessment), be equipped with maintenance free batteries (and 
sealed if lead-acid), and be covered by a minimum level of after sales service 
as described:  

 
 

a) Successful completion of the NEV America assessment means NEV 
meets: (1) all of the minimum vehicle requirements specified in the NEV 
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America Technical Specifications (Revision 3, effective  
September 21, 2007), and (2) the acceleration, top speed, and constant 
speed range performance specification in sections 5.1 through 5.3 of the 
same document.  NEVs that successfully completed the NEV America 
assessment prior to Revision 3 of the Technical Specifications are still 
eligible for a rebate provided that the vehicle model applying for incentives 
is sufficiently similar to the vehicle model that completed the assessment.  
The Specifications are available at: 
http://avt.inl.gov/pdf/nev/nevtechspec.pdf . 
 

b) Each manufacturer must demonstrate to ARB that they have a program to 
offer convenient and time-sensitive warranty and maintenance service to 
the vehicle owner.  An acceptable service program will have readily 
available parts, trained service technicians, and the ability to either send a 
technician to an owner’s home or pick up and transport the vehicle to an 
authorized repair facility.  

 
iv. ZEMs must meet the “Zero-Emission Motorcycle” definition in Section D of 

this Implementation Manual, successfully complete the Zero-Emission 
Motorcycle Evaluation Procedure, have sealed batteries (if lead-acid), and be 
covered by a minimum level of after sales service as described below. 
 
a) Successful completion of the Zero-Emission Motorcycle Evaluation 

Procedure means that a recognized third-party vehicle standards 
organization has evaluated ZEM using specific procedures and ARB has 
verified that ZEM meets the specified range and acceleration 
requirements. 
 

b) Each manufacturer must demonstrate to ARB that they have a program to 
offer convenient and time-sensitive warranty and maintenance service to 
the vehicle owner.  An acceptable service program will have readily 
available parts, trained service technicians, and the ability to either send a 
technician to an owner’s home, or pick up and transport the vehicle to an 
authorized repair facility.  

 
d. Warranty Provisions  

The vehicle drive train, including applicable energy storage system or a battery 
pack, must be covered by a manufacturer warranty.  Prior to approving a vehicle 
model for addition to the List of Eligible Vehicles, ARB may request that the 
manufacturer provide copies of representative vehicle and battery warranties and 
a description of the manufacturer’s plans to provide warranty and routine vehicle 
service.  Warranty provisions must meet the following requirements: 
 

i. ZEVs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 36 months; the first 12 months 
of the coverage period shall be a full warranty.  If the warranty for the 
remaining 24 months is prorated, the percentage of the battery pack's original 
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value to be covered or refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of 
the prorated coverage period still remaining.  For the purpose of this 
computation, the age of the battery pack must be expressed in increments no 
larger than three months. 
 

ii. PHEVs must meet the extended warranty requirements applicable to PZEVs 
as described in section 1962.1(c)(2)(D), Title 13, CCR. 

 
iii. NEVs and ZEMs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 24 months.  At 

least four months of the first 12 months of the NEV/ZEM coverage period 
shall be a full warranty; the remainder of the first 12 months and all of the 
second 12 months of the coverage period may be covered under optional 
(available for purchase) extended warranties and may be prorated.  If the 
extended warranty is prorated, the percentage of the battery pack's original 
value to be covered or refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of 
the prorated coverage period still remaining.  For the purpose of this 
computation, the age of the battery pack must be expressed in intervals no 
larger than three months.  Alternatively, a manufacturer may cover 50 percent 
of the original value of the battery pack for the full period of the extended 
warranty.  

3. Development of List of Eligible Vehicle Models 
 
The CVRP List of Eligible Vehicle Models will be periodically updated as manufacturers 
submit applications and vehicle models are approved.  In order for a vehicle to be 
eligible for a rebate, the vehicle manufacturer must submit to ARB the Vehicle Eligibility 
Application and all supporting documentation.  ARB will work with the vehicle 
manufacturer to ensure that all the required documentation is received and request any 
additional information needed to make an eligibility determination.  If the vehicle meets 
the eligibility requirements set forth in Section B (2) of this Implementation Manual, then 
ARB will add the vehicle to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models, calculate the rebate 
amount, and provide the updated list to the Administrator.  New model years of vehicles 
already approved for CVRP eligibility can be rebated prior to the new model year being 
added to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models.  All other new vehicle models purchased 
before being on the List of Eligible Vehicle Models are not rebate eligible. 

4. Vehicle Rebate Amounts for Individuals, Businesses, and Public Entities 
 
ARB establishes a rebate amount for each eligible vehicle model up to the maximum 
rebate amount for that vehicle type listed in Table 2.  Specific rebate amounts for each 
eligible vehicle model will be included in the List of Eligible Vehicle Models and available 
on the project webpage. 
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Table 2 summarizes the maximum per vehicle rebate amount.  

 
Table 2:  CVRP Maximum Rebate Amounts 

Vehicle Type Maximum Rebate 
Amount 

Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle $5,000* 
Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicle   
      Type I, 1.5, II, III, IV, V, or BEVx  $2,500 
Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle $1,500 
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle  $900 
Zero-Emission Motorcycle $900 

*FCEV eligible purchases or lessees made on or after June 1, 2014 quality for     
a rebate of up to $5,000. 

Combining Vehicle Rebates with Other Incentives 
Participation in CVRP does not preclude a vehicle purchaser or lessee from combining 
CVRP rebates with other incentive opportunities.  Rebates could be combined with 
federal, state, or local agency incentives as well as Administrator match funding, if 
available, to help further buy-down an eligible vehicle’s cost.  The total of all incentives 
and tax credits may not be more than the vehicle purchase price or total cost of the 
lease.   

5. Reduced Ownership Period Provisions Specific to Rental and Car Share 
Fleets 

 
Rental and car share fleets provide a unique opportunity for introducing eligible vehicles 
to a large consumer base.  Because vehicles are typically circulated out of the fleets in 
less than the three year ownership/lease period required under the CVRP, provisions 
are warranted to allow these vehicles to be rebated. Rental and car share vehicles are 
rebate-eligible if retained in California for a minimum of one year (twelve consecutive 
months) but less than three years.  Vehicles must be available for rent from a California 
rental location for the minimum twelve consecutive month term.  Rental fleets and car 
share fleets are subject to a limit of 20 rebated vehicles per calendar year.  See 
Section B (6) for a more detailed information regarding the maximum number of rebates 
per entity. 
 
Vehicles rebated under the reduced-ownership provision for rental and car share fleets 
are eligible for the rebate amounts identified in Table 3.  Rental or car share fleets that 
own and operate vehicles in California for a minimum of three years are eligible for the 
vehicle’s maximum rebate amount identified in Table 2.   
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Table 3:  Rebate Amounts for Rental and Car Share Fleets Under the Reduced 
Ownership Provision 

Vehicle Type Maximum Rebate Amount 
Under Reduced Ownership 

Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle $1,500 
Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicle  
      Type I, 1.5, II, III, IV, V, or BEVx $750 
Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle $450 
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle  $270 
Zero-Emission Motorcycle $270 

6. Maximum Rebates per Entity 
 
Except for rental, public, and car share fleets, no single entity is eligible to receive more 
than two CVRP rebates either via direct purchase and/or lease.  Traditional rental car 
fleets and car share fleets are capped at 20 rebates per calendar year.  Public fleets are 
limited to 30 rebates per year.  Table 4 summarizes the maximum number of rebates 
per entity. 
 

Table 4: Maximum Number of Rebates per Entity 
Consumer Type Maximum Number of Rebates  

Individual or Businesses 2 total* 
Public Fleet 30 per calendar year 
Rental Fleet 20 per calendar year 

Car Share Fleet 20 per calendar year 
*Individuals or businesses that were previously rebated the maximum number of rebates and 
wish to upgrade to a FCEV may apply for an additional rebate. 

 
a. Increased Incentives for Public Fleets in Disadvantaged Communities 

To support public fleet participation in the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project, funding 
was approved in the FY 2014-15 Funding Plan specifically for public agencies 
(federal, state, county, regional and municipal) located in or serving 
disadvantaged communities.  ARB and the Administrator shall monitor the 
funding draw down throughout the fiscal year and remaining funds set aside 
would be reallocated back into the rebate account if unused. As noted earlier, a 
public fleet is limited to a maximum of 30 rebates per calendar year.  Table 5 
summarizes the maximum per vehicle rebate amount. 
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Table 5:  Rebate Amounts for Public Fleets in Disadvantaged Communities 

Vehicle Type Maximum Rebate 
Amount 

Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles 15,000 
Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicle   
      Type I, 1.5, II, III, IV, V, or BEVx  $10,000 
Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle $5,250 
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle  $900 
Zero-Emission Motorcycle $900 

 
b. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) Requirements 

For the purposes of CVRP, vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary 
control of a fleet – including, but not limited to, entities sharing a common 
Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) – are considered part of a single fleet even 
if they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions, or other organizational 
structure of a company, government agency, or other entity.  All entities, other 
than individuals, are required to disclose their TIN at the time of rebate 
application.  ARB or its designee may seek financial reimbursement and/or civil 
and criminal penalties from a vehicle purchaser/lessee for non-disclosure or 
inaccurate disclosure of its TIN or other information relating to common 
ownership of fiduciary control of the purchasing entity.     

7. Distribution of Rebates 
 
For vehicles purchased or leased on or after May 5, 2014, the purchaser or lessee must 
submit a rebate application within 18 months after the transaction to be eligible for a 
rebate.  For the purposes of CVRP, the date of purchase is the day of sale.  A sale is 
deemed completed when the purchaser of the vehicle has executed and signed a 
purchase contract or security agreement, and taken physical possession or delivery of 
the vehicle.  For the purposes of CVRP, a vehicle is deemed to be leased on the date 
upon which the lease of the vehicle commences, as specified in a signed lease 
agreement.  Ownership of the vehicle will be demonstrated by providing documentation 
as approved by the Administrator.  With the exception of vehicles purchased under the 
special provisions of Section B (5), owned and leased vehicles must be operated and 
registered in California for a minimum of 36 consecutive months.  Applications can be 
submitted online at the CVRP website.  Applicants without internet access can contact 
the Administrator in order to receive a rebate application by mail. 
 
Rebates will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis contingent upon funding 
availability.  Available rebate funds will be reserved by the Administrator following 
submission of an online application or upon receipt of a mailed application.  After an 
application is accepted by the Administrator, the required supporting documentation 
(outlined in Section C (3)) must be submitted by the purchaser or lessee to the 
Administrator within 14 calendar days (if mailed, submittal date will be determined by 
U.S. mail postmark). The signed application and supporting documents may be 
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scanned and sent electronically through e-mail to cvrp@energycenter.org . 
 
The rebate for an eligible vehicle will be issued to the qualified recipient in a single 
allotment.  The distribution of this rebate will be made within 90 calendar days, 
contingent upon availability of funds.  Rebate checks must be cashed within six months 
of the postmark date the check was mailed.  Checks not cashed within this timeframe 
will be cancelled, and the rebate amount returned to the project.   

8. Waiting List 
 
ARB will review the progress of CVRP as well as development of the Funding Plan to 
determine if a waiting list is necessary and appropriate.  If necessary, ARB will 
coordinate the development of a waiting list with the Administrator. 

C. VEHICLE PURCHASER OR LESSEE DUTIES AND REQUIREMENTS 
 
1. Vehicle Purchaser or Lessee 
 
The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for submitting the rebate application and 
providing all required documentation to the Administrator.  Eligible vehicle purchasers or 
lessees must accept the rebate directly – CVRP does not provide an option to assign 
the rebate to a vehicle seller or lessor (i.e. vehicle dealer or manufacturer).  To receive 
a CVRP rebate, a vehicle purchaser or lessee must: 
 
a. Be an individual, business, nonprofit or government entity that is based in 

California or has a California-based affiliate at the time the rebated vehicle is 
purchased or leased.  Proof of California DMV registration will be required to 
complete a CVRP application. 

 
i. Eligible vehicles may be purchased or leased out-of-state, but consumers 

must be California residents at the time of vehicle purchase.  All businesses 
must be licensed to operate in California.  Active duty military members 
stationed in California, but with permanent residency in another state are 
eligible to apply and may use military orders in lieu of other proof of residence 
documentation. 

 
b. Purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle as specified in Section B of this 

Implementation Manual. 
 

c. Be a purchaser or lessee of a new eligible vehicle and submit a CVRP 
application within 18 months of the vehicle purchase or lease date and prior to 
exhaustion of available rebate funds. 

d. Purchase or lease an eligible vehicle before applying for a rebate. 

e. Lease terms of at least 36 months are required for program eligibility. 
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f. Retain ownership of the vehicle in California for a minimum of 36 consecutive 
months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date (only rental and car 
share vehicles are eligible for a reduced ownership provision if retained in 
California for a minimum of twelve consecutive months but less than 36 
consecutive months). 

g. Rebate recipients who do not retain the eligible vehicle for the full 36-month 
ownership or lease period will be required to reimburse ARB all or part of the 
original rebate amount.  See Section C (4). 

 
i. Vehicle purchasers or lessees are required to notify the Administrator, by 

calling (866) 984-2532 or email cvrp@energycenter.org, to seek approval for 
early termination of vehicle ownership in advance of intent to sell or terminate 
a lease prior to the required 36 month ownership period.  

 
h. Register the new vehicle with the California DMV for a minimum of 36 

consecutive months for use in California.		Any government owned vehicle not 
registered with the California DMV is still required to operate within California for 
36 consecutive months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date.  
Rental and car share purchasers or lessees must register the vehicle with the 
California DMV and operate the vehicle for a minimum of 12 consecutive months 
after vehicle purchase or lease date. 
 

i. Submit the signed application form and all required supporting documentation 
within 14 calendar days of application submittal as specified in Section C (3) of 
this Implementation Manual. 

 
j. Not make or allow any modifications to the vehicle’s emissions control systems, 

hardware, software calibrations, or hybrid system (Violation, CVC 27156). 
 
k. Commit that any emission reductions generated by the purchased vehicle will not 

be used as marketable emission reduction credits, to offset any emission 
reduction obligation of any person or entity, or to generate a compliance 
extension or extra credit for determining regulatory compliance. 

 
l. Be available for follow-up inspection if requested by the Administrator, ARB, or 

ARB’s designee for the purposes of project oversight and accountability. 
 

m. Rebate checks must be cashed within six months of the postmark date the check 
was mailed.  Checks not cashed within this timeframe will be cancelled and the 
rebate amount returned to the project 
 

The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for ensuring the accuracy of the 
information on all rebate applications and required documentation submitted to the 
Administrator.  Submission of false information on any required documents may be 
considered a criminal offense and is punishable under penalty of perjury under the laws 
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of the State of California. ARB or its designee has the authority to recoup the CVRP 
funds which were received based upon misinformation or fraud, or for which the 
dealership, manufacturer, or vehicle purchaser or lessee is in significant or continual 
non-compliance with this Implementation Manual or State law.  ARB also retains the 
authority to prohibit any entity from participating in CVRP due to non-compliance with 
project requirements. 

2. Vehicle Ownership Reporting 
 
ARB reserves the right to request voluntary participation from rebate recipients in 
ongoing research efforts that support the CVRP and AQIP goals as well as ARB 
Research Division efforts.  The Administrator shall administer vehicle owner surveys to 
rebate recipients to collect vehicle usage data and other information pertaining to 
CVRP-eligible vehicle ownership.  ARB will coordinate with the Administrator to identify 
survey parameters and determine the most effective mechanism for obtaining 
information. 
 
3. Supporting Documentation 
 
If the purchaser or lessee does not submit the required documentation within the 
specified 14 calendar days, the funds will be released back to the project and the 
purchaser or lessee will be required to submit a new rebate application.  Required 
documentation will include, at a minimum, the following: 

a. For applicants who request applications by phone, a complete application with 
signature and date.  For online applicants, a hard copy of the submitted application 
signed by the vehicle purchaser, lessee, or authorized representative.  If mailed, 
submittal date will be determined by U.S. mail postmark. The signed application and 
supporting documents may be scanned and sent electronically through e-mail to 
cvrp@energycenter.org. 

 
b. Proof of temporary or permanent vehicle registration for the vehicle listed in the 

application.  A copy of the Application for New Vehicle Registration submitted by the 
dealer to the DMV is acceptable proof of temporary vehicle registration if submitted 
within one year of sale.  Local, state, and federal agencies and entities may submit 
other documents with the prior approval of the Administrator. 

 
c. A copy of the final sales or lease contract with an itemization of credits, discounts, 

and incentives received, if applicable. 
 

d. For individuals, a copy of a California driver’s license, utility or cable bill from within 
the last 3 months or other valid form of California residency as approved by ARB.  
Other forms of valid proof include a signed, dated, and notarized rental agreement, 
or a copy of the current DMV registration of another vehicle in the purchaser or 
lessee name.   
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e. For a business or nonprofit, a copy of the formation document filed with the 
California Secretary of State or other documentation as approved by the 
Administrator.  Sole proprietors may submit a copy of a utility or cable bill from within 
the last 3 months, a current vehicle DMV registration or a notarized rental 
agreement. 

 
f. For ZEMs and NEVs, evidence of maintenance free batteries (and sealed if lead 

acid), and a 24-month warranty. 
 
Once the Administrator has verified the documentation, a rebate check will be issued to 
the vehicle purchaser or lessee. 
 
4. Vehicle Ownership Provision 
 
With the exception of vehicles purchased or leased under the special provisions in 
Section B(5), vehicle purchasers and lessees participating in CVRP are required to 
keep the vehicle and meet all applicable project requirements for a minimum 36 month 
period after the vehicle purchase or lease date.   
 
If a manufacturer defect or other unforeseen circumstances require the replacement of 
a CVRP rebated vehicle with another vehicle of the same technology type (FCEV, BEV, 
PHEV, etc.) or upgrade (e.g. replace PHEV with BEV), the Administrator, in conjunction 
with ARB, has discretion to allow updated information to be provided with no return of 
CVRP rebate funds. 
 
Resale of a vehicle or return of a leased vehicle to a dealer is allowed within this 36 
month period if necessitated by unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances.  To employ 
this provision, contact the Administrator to initiate this process.  Purchasers or lessees 
who must resell a vehicle or return a leased vehicle to a dealer due to unforeseen or 
unavoidable circumstances such as financial hardship or military duty may be exempt 
from returning the prorated rebate amount. Financial hardship and military duty 
exemptions will be approved by ARB on a case-by-case basis.  If the vehicle is resold or 
returned, the vehicle purchaser or lessee must refund a prorated portion of their rebate, 
in an amount equivalent to the original rebate amount divided by 36 months and then 
multiplied by the number of months remaining in the original 36 month period (rounded 
to the nearest month), to the Administrator (see formula provided below): 
 
(Original Rebate Amount ÷ 36 Months) x (36 – months since vehicle purchase or 
lease date) 
 
The Administrator will follow specific procedures when managing vehicles that received 
a rebate at the time of original sale or lease and have since been sold or returned to the 
dealer, see Attachment A. 
 
ARB verifies vehicle ownership through periodic checks of Vehicle Identification 
Numbers (VINs) in the California DMV database.  If a vehicle purchaser or lessee sells 
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or returns the rebated vehicle to the dealer, ARB or its designee reserves the right to 
recoup CVRP funds from the original vehicle purchaser identified on the rebate form 
and may pursue other remedies available under the law for unauthorized early 
termination of vehicle ownership. 

D. DEFINITIONS 

 
“ARB-Certified” means a vehicle that has been certified as a ZEV or a Transitional 
Zero Emission Vehicle and issued an Executive Order by ARB in accordance with the 
provisions of the California ZEV Regulation (section 1962(e), Title 13, CCR). 
 
“Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV)” means any vehicle that operates solely by use of a 
battery, or that is powered primarily through the use of an electric battery but uses a 
flywheel or capacitor that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation.  
 
“BEVx” is a regulatory vehicle category approved by the Board in January 2012 that 
includes battery-electric vehicles with small, gasoline powered, range extending 
auxiliary power units (APU).  The APU provides only an emergency “limp home” range, 
unlike the long range or full power of a hybrid electric vehicle.  The BEVx is considered 
a zero-emission vehicle subcategory under the CVRP, and rebate amounts are based 
on vehicles’ range certifications.    
 
“Car share fleets” Car sharing is a model of car rental in which cars are rented for 
short periods of time, often by the hour.  The organization renting the cars may be a 
commercial business or the users may be organized as a company, public agency, 
cooperative or ad hoc grouping. 
 
“Fleet” means vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary control, including, but not 
limited to, entities sharing a common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).  Vehicles 
are considered part of a single fleet even if they are part of different subsidiaries, 
divisions, or other organizational structures of a company, government agency, or other 
entity.  For the purposes of CVRP, franchises, divisions or subsidies doing business 
under a common name will be considered one entity even if they do not share a TIN. 
 
“Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV)” means a vehicle that is powered by a group of 
individual fuel cells, known as a fuel cell stack.  The stack is designed to contain enough 
cells to provide the necessary power for the automotive application.  A fuel cell stack 
produces power as long as fuel is available, similar to a combustion engine.  The 
electricity generated by the fuel cell stack powers the electric motor that propels the 
vehicle. 
 
“Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)” means the vehicle weight described on the 
original manufacturer Line Setting Ticket provided to the vehicle dealer. 
 
“Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV)” means a motor vehicle that meets the 
definition of “low-speed vehicle” either in section 385.5 of CVC or in 49 CFR 571.500 
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(as it existed on July 1, 2000) and is certified to zero-emission vehicle standards.  
 
“Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV)” (sometimes referred to as an Extended 
Range Electric Vehicle or E-REV) means a hybrid electric vehicle which:  

o has zero-emission vehicle range capability,  
o has an on-board electrical energy storage device with useful capacity greater 

than or equal to ten miles of Urban Dynamometer Driving Schedule (UDDS) 
range on electricity alone,  

o is equipped with an on-board charger, and 
o is rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical source.  

 
“Public Fleet” means a vehicle under ownership by a public entity. 
  
“Rental fleet” means a fleet categorized under the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) as an establishment engaged in renting passenger cars 
without drivers, generally for short or long periods of time (2007 NAICS code 532111 
and 532112). 
 
“Type I ZEV” means a ZEV with a UDDS ZEV range of 50 to less than 75 miles.  
 
“Type I.5 ZEV” means a ZEV with a UDDS ZEV range of 75 to less than 100 miles.  
  
“Type II ZEV” means a ZEV with a UDDS ZEV range of 100 to less than 200 miles.  
 
“Type III ZEV” means a ZEV with either (1) a UDDS range of 200 or more miles or (2) 
a UDDS ZEV range of 100 to less than 200 miles and is capable of replacing 95 miles 
of range in 10 minutes or less per CCR section 1962.1(d)(5)(B) of the California ZEV 
Regulation.  
 
“Type IV ZEV” means a ZEV with a UDDS ZEV range of 200 miles or more and is 
capable of replacing 190 miles of range in 15 minutes or less per CCR section 
1962.1(d)(5)(B) of the California ZEV Regulation. 
 
“Type V ZEV” means a ZEV with a UDDS ZEV range of 300 miles or more and is 
capable of replacing 285 miles of range in 15 minutes or less per CCR section 
1962.1(d)(5)(B) of the California ZEV Regulation. 
 
“Zero-Emission Motorcycle (ZEM)” means either a fully-enclosed zero-emission 
vehicle designed to travel on three wheels or a two-wheeled electric motorcycle.  ZEMs 
must meet the provisions of CVC section 400 and be freeway capable. 
 
“Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV)” means any vehicle certified to zero-emission 
standards. 



 

41 of 84 
 
 

Attachment A 
 
 

Clean Vehicle Rebate Project Standard Operating Procedures 
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Procedures for Authorizing Early Lease/Ownership Termination of Rebated 
Vehicles 

 
This document provides the necessary steps involved for the Rebate Administrator 
(Administrator) and the California Air Resources Board (ARB) to follow if notified of the 
resale or lease termination of a Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebated vehicle. 
 
Step One: Notify the Administrator of Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination Request  
If ARB is notified of vehicle resale or lease termination request, ARB will contact the 
Administrator with the applicant’s email and contact information and a brief description 
of the request for processing.  
 
Step Two:  The Administrator Documents Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination 
Request  
Once notified by a rebate recipient of interest in reselling/terminating the lease on a 
CVRP funded vehicle, the Administrator will document the case on a resale/lease 
termination request form: 
 

1. Applicant contact information 
2. Date when the individual applied for CVRP 
3. Original rebate amount received 
4. Vehicle Identification Number  
5. Reason for vehicle resale/lease termination 
6. Status of vehicle resale/lease termination 
7. Prorated rebate amount using the formula below: 

 
(Original Rebate Amount ÷ 36 Months) x (36 – months since vehicle purchase or 
lease date) 
 
Step Three:  Administrator Review and Rule on Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination 
Request  
The Administrator will review the resale/lease termination request and any supporting 
documentation, and inform the individual of their decision within 10 working days.  
 
Step Four:  The Administrator Notifies Applicant Ruling 
The Administrator will communicate their decision to the individual requesting 
resale/lease termination, including instructions for refunding the prorated amount of the 
rebate to the Administrator if the resale/lease termination request is granted.  Refunded 
rebates will be added back into the rebate funding pool.       
 
Step Five:  The Administrator Notifies ARB of Applicant Refund or a Non-
Responsive Rebate Recipient 
Once the prorated rebate amount is refunded back to CVRP, the Administrator will 
inform ARB, through program reporting.  Additionally, the Administrator will provide 
monthly status reports until the refund is received.  If a the individual requesting 
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resale/lease termination is unresponsive and fails to return the prorated rebate amount 
within 30 calendar days of initial ruling notification, the Administrator shall notify ARB 
and provide the individual’s information outlined in Step Two.  
 
Step Six: Coordination with Enforcement of CVRP Ownership Terms 
ARB program staff is responsible for coordination with staff conducting periodic VIN 
checks of the DMV database for ownership compliance.  Individuals that received 
resale/lease termination approval from ARB will not be in violation of the CVRP 
ownership terms.  

 
Procedures for Floor Model/Test Drive and Rollback/Unwind Vehicle Eligibility 

 
This document provides the steps necessary for the Administrator and the California Air 
Resources Board (ARB) to manage Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebate 
applications for floor model, test drive, rollback and unwind vehicles. 
 
Step One: Definitions 
 
Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicles 
   
Floor model or test drive vehicles are provided by original equipment manufacturers to 
car dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other customer interactions.   
California dealerships may temporarily operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on 
public roads with “dealer” license plates for the purpose of test drives.  Use of floor 
model or test drive vehicles on public roads with “dealer” license plates does not require 
vehicle registration with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 
 
Rollback/Unwind Vehicles 
 
A rollback is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being purchased or leased 
and operated by a buyer.  Rollbacks can occur if a buyer’s financing is rejected. An 
unwind occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is completed, but 
the sale or lease of the vehicle was not consummated and the buyer never took 
delivery.        
 
Step Two: Review of Vehicle Supporting Documents 
The Administrator will review the supporting documents within the rebate application to 
ensure the application meets all program requirements.  A California vehicle sales or 
lease contract will indicate if a vehicle is new or used.   
 

2.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Documentation: Per the California DMV’s Vehicle 
Registration Procedures Manual, a new vehicle operated as a floor model or test 
drive vehicle (referred to as “demonstrator” vehicles by the California DMV) is 
classified to be a used vehicle when subsequently sold to a retail buyer.  
However, when sold to the retail buyer, floor model or test drive vehicles must be 
registered with the California DMV as a new vehicle through the use of the 
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Application for Registration of a New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397).  The 
sale or lease contract and the proof of temporary or permanent vehicle 
registration should reflect these DMV requirements. 
 
 
2.2 Rollback/Unwind Documentation: Per the Califonia’s DMV’s Vehicle 
Registration Procedures Manual, rollback and unwind vehicles occur when they 
have been registered by the original purchaser through the use of the Application 
for Registration of New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397).  The Administrator 
requires documentation showing that the dealership is attesting to the fact that 
the car is either a rollback or unwind vehicle. 

 
Step Three: Determining Vehicle Eligibility 
Based on the supporting documents provided with the rebate application, the 
Administrator, with input from ARB, will determine whether the applicant is eligible for 
the CVRP rebate.   
 

3.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Eligibility: A floor model or test drive vehicle which 
was not previously registered with the California DMV, and meets all other CVRP 
vehicle eligibility criteria, is eligible for the CVRP rebate.  Per section 2(a) of the 
CVRP Implementation Manual, a floor model or test drive vehicle which has 
previously been registered with the California DMV does not meet the CVRP 
vehicle eligibility criteria, thus is not eligible for the CVRP rebate. 
 
3.2 Rollback/Unwind Eligibility: A rollback or unwind vehicle has previously been 
registered with the California DMV; however, the sale or lease was never 
completed.  The vehicle was either returned or never delivered due to financing 
issues.  These vehicles’ eligibility will be determined on a case by case basis 
after reviewing the supporting documentation. 
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