Special Registration  Situations:
California has special requirements for vehicles:

· imported from a foreign country by an individual (Gray Market),

· imported from Canada,

· specially contoured, or

· with engine modifications.


It may be very costly and in some cases impossible to modify these vehicles to meet California emission requirements.  For example, gray market vehicles less than two years old are not legal for registration or use in California




For More Information:

For information on other California vehicle smog laws, contact the California Air Resources Board (ARB) at

(800) 242-4450, or visit our web site at www.arb.ca.gov


For information on the California Smog Check program, contact your local Bureau of Automotive Repair office, or call (800) 952-5210
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  Before  
You Buy

  A Car

  Out Of   
State…
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    Make Sure You

 Can Drive It In                        


California!
Vehicle Smog Requirements for California Residents:

If you are a resident of California and buy or acquire a new car, truck or motorcycle in another state, it must be "California Certified" to meet California emission laws, unless it meets one of the exceptions listed below.


California Law considers any vehicle purchased with less than 7,500 miles on the odometer a NEW vehicle.  California Law also prohibits a California resident or business from driving  their vehicle to obtain in excess of 7,500 miles. 





Exceptions:

As a California resident, you may register a new out-of-state vehicle certified to federal emission standards only if you:

· obtain it as part of an inheritance or divorce settlement

· purchase it to replace your California registered vehicle that was stolen while out-of-state; or

· purchase it to replace your California registered vehicle that was destroyed or became inoperative beyond reasonable repair while out-of-state.


When you apply to register the vehicle, you must show proof - such as a court order, police report or repair invoice - that you qualify for an exception.






Check the Underhood Label For Certification Information:

To find out whether a car or truck is California certified, check the emission control label under the hood in the engine compartment.  If the vehicle is "California certified," this label will state that the vehicle con-forms to California regulations or that it is legal for sale in California.  If a vehicle is "federally certified," the label will state that the vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA regulations, but no mention will be made of meeting California requirements.






Denial Of Registration:

A California resident or business cannot operate a new out-of-state vehicle in California that is not "California certified."  The Department of Motor Vehicles will not register it.  It cannot be driven or sold here.  If the vehicle is to be operated or resold, it must be removed from California.


Converting a "federally certified" vehicle to be "California certified" is not allowed.






California Residents In The Military:

If you are a California resident on active military duty outside the state, you may return to California with a new vehicle that is not certified to California requirements.  You must have registered this vehicle in the state of your last military service, and it must be certified to federal emission standards.




Persons Moving to California:

If you are moving to California from another state, you may register a new federally certified vehicle if it was first registered by you in your home state, or for military personnel, in the state of your last military service.  When applying for vehicle registration in California, you must provide evidence of you vehicle's previous registration.  A temporary operating permit is acceptable proof.


(Including Military Personnel)


Smog Check For 

Out-Of-State Vehicles:

All gasoline-powered vehicles, new or used, being registered for the first time in California must pass the California Smog Check.  A vehicle will fail the California Smog Check if it is not equipped with the originally required smog devices.
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