The Truck and Bus regulation
phases-in requirements for
diesel truck and bus owners
to reduce diesel exhaust
emissions from existing
vehicles beginning in 2012,
with final deadlines in 2023.
Requirements differ by gross

vehicle weight rating (GVWR).

This flier has information that
will help you comply with the
regulation. Please contact us
for additional information
on your available options.
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TRUCK AND BUS REGULATION

A, T, ., ¥ o D -,

Diesel Truck Owners
Must Act Now!

New air pollution rules for
privately and federally owned
diesel trucks and buses

begin January 1, 2012

866-6DIESEL
www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop

California Environmental Protection Agency

@= Air Resources Board




Heavier Vehicles
(>26,000 Ibs GVWR)

Truck owners must retrofit 1996-1999 model
year engines with particulate matter (PM)
filters by January 1, 2012.

Flexible compliance options
are available

You must report to take advantage of these
options. (See “Available Options” on the
right). Reporting is free. Please see the
TruckStop website or contact ARB for more
information on reporting.
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Lighter Vehicles
(14,001 to 26,000 Ibs GVWR)

Requirements for lighter trucks do not
start until January 1, 2015, and reporting
is not needed.

Note: School buses and trucks that transport
marine and rail cargo have different
requirements.

Available Compliance Options Through Reporting

Fleet owners can select from the following three options based on their individual fleet makeup.

1. If you own three or fewer trucks with a GVWR more than 14,000 Ibs. you can report to delay
compliance for heavier trucks until 2014 as long as you report by the following dates:

o Janruary-34—2642 March 30, 2012, if any trucks have 1996-1999 model year engines.
e January 31, 2013, if any trucks have 2000-2004 model year engines.
e January 31, 2014, all fleets must report to use the small fleet phase-in option.

2. Other fleet owners have the option to report and show that 30 percent of heavier
vehicles have PM filters by January 1, 2012.

3. Upon reporting, owners can delay compliance for some trucks based on:
e Early compliance
e Downsizing the fleet
e Low-mileage construction trucks

Log trucks

Trucks that operate exclusively in cleaner parts of California
e Low use trucks (operated less than 1000 miles per year)

Owners must report by Jenuary-34-2642 March 30, 2012, to take advantage of most
of the provisions at:
www.arb.ca.gov/dieseltruck.
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