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Summary 
 
 

The Air Resources Board’s in-use off-road diesel vehicle regulation (the regulation) 
contains a limit on unnecessary idling.  The regulation states: “No vehicle or engines 
subject to this regulation may idle for more than 5 consecutive minutes.”  This limit 
applies to all off-road diesel vehicles subject to the regulation, unless the vehicle is 
idling for specific circumstances defined in the regulation or a waiver has been granted.  
The idling limits are effective and enforceable as of June 15, 2008, when the regulation 
became effective under California law.   
 
The regulation also requires that all fleets that meet the medium or large fleet 
categories create a written idling policy and make the policy available to vehicle 
operators by March 1, 2009.   
 
This document provides additional information on the idling limits, and includes 
suggested content for the written idling policy. 

 
Who is Held Responsible for Idling Violations? 
 
 

Unless the vehicle is a rental vehicle, the vehicle owner will be held accountable for all 
idling violations, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time.  For example, 
if an employee is operating a vehicle owned by a fleet owner, the fleet owner is 
responsible for ensuring the employee complies with the idling limits.  If the owner of a 
rented or leased vehicle provides an operator along with the vehicle (such as when 
companies rent out scrapers along with scraper operators), then the owner is 
responsible for idling. 

 
The exception to owner responsibility for idling is a vehicle which is rented or leased 
and operated by the renter or lessee.  Idling of such rented or leased vehicles is the 
responsibility of the renter or lessee.  The owner of such rented or leased vehicles must 
indicate in the rental agreement that the renter is responsible for complying with the 
idling limits.  ARB recommends that rental agencies include language on a rental form 
which is signed by the renter that they are responsible for meeting idling limits and that 
they understand the idling limits.   Rental agencies are not required to supply a written 
idling policy to the renters.   

 
Who Needs a Written Idling Policy? 
 

All medium and large off-road diesel fleets are required to develop a written idling 
policy and make it available to operators by March 1, 2009.  Fleets meeting the small 
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fleet definition are not required to maintain a written idling policy, but will be held 
accountable for meeting the idling limits. 

 

The definition of a small fleet is: 
 

A fleet with total maximum power of less than or equal to 2,500 hp that is owned by 
a business, non-profit organization, or local municipality, or a local municipality fleet 
in a low population county irrespective of total maximum power, or a non-profit 
training center irrespective of total maximum power. 

 
What are the Penalties for Not Having a Written Idling Policy? 
 

California Health and Safety Code section 39674 (b) authorizes a fine of up to $10,000 
per day from the day the written idling policy was supposed to be in place and available 
to operators, which is March 1, 2009.  A medium or large fleet which did not have a 
written idling policy could therefore be fined up to $10,000 per day for each day from 
March 1, 2009 to the date enforcement personnel discover that the fleet did not have a 
written idling policy. 

 
When Is Idling For More Than 5 Minutes Allowed?  

 
The idling limitations were not put into effect to limit the functions of a vehicle or 
business, but to prevent idling when it is not necessary.  If you find that the idling limits 
prevent you from accomplishing work, or create a safety concern, and you are not 
certain if the situation is covered by the idling exemptions listed below please contact 
ARB at 1(866) 6-DIESEL to discuss your circumstances.   
 
The regulation explicitly grants exemptions to the idling limit for the following cases, 
and will consider other circumstances on a case-by-case basis: 
 

• when it is necessary to complete a function of the vehicle (e.g. concrete 
agitation, or for hydraulic power to a crane or fuel pump) 

• when it is necessary for servicing, testing or maintenance 
o the exemption for servicing includes idling necessary to regenerate 

exhaust filters which require the engine to be idled periodically to 
regenerate, or burn off solids collected in the filter 

• when idling is required for safety reasons 
• when warming a vehicle up to operating temperatures, as specified by the 

equipment manufacturer   
• when queuing, such as when a line of off-road trucks forms to receive materials 

from an excavator    
o queuing does not include a vehicle waiting for materials or another 

vehicle to perform a function, such as a scraper waiting for a truck to 
deliver soil to complete a fill, or a truck being loaded by an excavator over 
a period of an hour 

 



Written Idling Policy Guidelines 

 3 

Enforcement personnel will have the discretion to make exceptions to the idling 
limitations when idling is necessary to provide heating or air conditioning to ensure the 
health and safety of the operators. 
 
 

What if I Need to Idle for More than 5 Minutes for a Reason Not Described Above?  
 

Fleet owners who believe they have a unique situation which qualifies their vehicles for 
a waiver from the idling limits may write a letter to ARB’s Executive Officer detailing 
their circumstances and explaining why they should receive a waiver.  If you have 
questions about what information should be included in your application for an idling 
waiver, please call 1(866)-6DIESEL.  To submit an application for an idling waiver, 
send a written request to: 

 
James Goldstene, Executive Officer 
California Air Resources Board  
P.O. Box 2815  
Sacramento, CA 95812 
 
cc:  Kim Heroy-Rogalski, Manager 
       Off-Road Implementation Section 

 
ARB will respond with a decision on whether the waiver is granted.  
 
If ARB grants blanket waivers to specific vehicles or applications, notification will be 
posted on the homepage for Off-road Diesel activities to prevent multiple fleets from 
completing the waiver process for the exact same vehicle or function. 

 
What Should the Written Idling Policy Include? 
 

The written idling policy must inform the vehicle operator that idling is limited to five 
consecutive minutes or less. 
 

ARB recommends the following information be included in the written policy as well, to 
ensure the operators are aware of the requirements and limits of the idling policy.  An 
example of language that could be included is shown as well, although many fleets will 
need to expand upon the examples shown here to address their specific 
circumstances. 

 

• A description of the idling limits, and an employer point of contact to handle 
operator questions relating to idling: 

 
No vehicle or engine subject to the in-use off-road diesel regulation may 
idle for more than 5 consecutive minutes.  The idling limits took effect on 
June 15, 2008, the day that the off-road diesel regulation became 
effective under California law.  

 
Please contact _____ ____ at ___ ___ ____ for more information if this 
policy is unclear or you have additional questions. 
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• A list of applicable off-road vehicles in the fleet if possible, or applicable vehicle 

types used by the employer (i.e., fleet owner).  In either case, the fleet owner 
should provide enough information to ensure the operators understand which 
vehicles the idling limits apply to.  

 
• Non-compliance reporting information, so concerned operators can report non-

compliant parties: 
 
 

To report off-road diesel vehicles that are violating the idling limits, call 
1-800-END-SMOG (1-800-363-7664), or fill out a form on-line at 
http://www.arb.ca.gov/enf/complaints/icv.htm. 

 
 

• The regulation language relating to idling, and how to look up the off-road diesel 
regulation: 

 
No vehicle or engines subject to this regulation may idle for more than 5 
consecutive minutes.  Idling of a vehicle that is owned by a rental 
company is the responsibility of the renter or lessee, and the rental 
agreement should so indicate.  The idling limit does not apply to: 

1. idling when queuing, 
2. idling to verify that the vehicle is in safe operating condition, 
3. idling for testing, servicing, repairing or diagnostic purposes, 
4. idling necessary to accomplish work for which the vehicle was 
designed (such as operating a crane), 
5. idling required to bring the machine system to operating 
temperature, as specified by the manufacturer, and 
6. idling necessary to ensure safe operation of the vehicle. 

 
The off-road diesel homepage is on ARB’s website at 
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/ordiesel/ordiesel.htm and contains links to 
the regulation language, fact sheets, and reporting forms. 
 
The idling limits are listed in the final regulation order on page 15, section 
2449(d)(3).  

 
• Additional information detailing when it is acceptable to exceed the idling limit.  

For example, the following language could be included, if applicable: 
 

 
Idling when waiting in line is allowed.  (Idling to wait for other vehicles or 
materials is not allowed.) 
 
Idling to accomplish secondary functions, such as concrete agitation, load 
hoisting, fuel pump operation, or other necessary functions is allowed. 
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Idling to keep equipment (including equipment windows) clear of ice and 
snow is allowed.   
 
Idling to provide air conditioning or heat to ensure the health and safety of 
the operator is allowed. 
 
Idling to test or repair a vehicle is allowed.  
 

Idling to warm up a vehicle to operating temperature as specific by the 
manufacturer is allowed. 

 
• A description of the penalties for an idling violation, as assessed by ARB 

enforcement staff: 
 

 
The ARB enforcement advisory for idling is available online from ARB’s 
website at http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/ordiesel/guidance/idling.pdf .   
 

The enforcement advisory describes the method by which the idling policy 
will be enforced by ARB staff, and states that penalties of up to $10,000 per 
day, from the first day the idling policy was required until the violation is 
found, may be assessed. 

 
 

• If ARB has issued a waiver for an engine model or vehicle type that is used by 
the fleet, this information should be included as well.   

 
ARB also recommends that fleets develop procedures for: 

 
• Training and informing staff regarding the idling policy, 
• Identifying fleet specific needs for its operators, such as language or reading 

needs (e.g. instructions in Spanish, or a class that goes over the idling limits for 
operators who cannot read the idling policy). 

• Maintaining and updating the written idling policy. 
• Locations where the policy will be kept or displayed. 
• Designating any signs or labels in the vehicle, and their meaning, that inform the 

operator of the idling limits.   
• Any corrective actions to be taken against the operator, by the employer, for 

violation of the idling policy.   
• Any additional idling requirements that apply, such as local or project-specific 

limits, if applicable. 
 
 
 

Where Should the Idling Policy be Kept? 
 
 

ARB recommends that fleet owners consider keeping either the policy or a sticker or 
placard with the vehicle to ensure that all operators are aware of the idling limits.  At the 
least, vehicle owners must make the written idling policy available to operators. 
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Stickers and Vehicle Labels 
 

Fleet owners may wish to place stickers or labels in the vehicles that indicate that the 
idling limits apply to the vehicle.  Although this is not required by the regulation, it is 
encouraged by ARB to ensure that vehicle operators are reminded of the policy while in 
the field.  One example of an idling policy sticker is shown on the following page. 

 
 
 

Sample Idling Sticker 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Questions about the Idling Limits and Written Idling Policy 

 
If you have questions about vehicle applicability, limits, written idling policy, or other 
concerns, please contact ARB’s diesel hotline at 866-6DIESEL (866-634-3735). 


