State of California
AIR RESOURCES BOARD

Executive Order G-803

WHEREAS, on April 8, 1993, the Air Resources Board (the "Board") conducted a
public hearing to consider the proposed adoption of permit fee regulations
for nonvehicular sources pursuant to the California Clean Air Act; ’

WHEREAS, following the public hearing, the Board adopted Resolution 93-21,
in which the Board approved the adoption of section 9088.4 and amendment to
section 90803, Title 17, California Code of Regulations, as set forth in
Attachment A thereto; -

WHEREAS, Resolution 93-21 directed the Executive Officer to adopt the
regulations set forth in Attachment A after making them available to the
public for a period of 15 days, provided that the Executive Officer shall
consider such written comments regarding the changes in the regulations as
originally proposed as may be submitted during this period; shall make such
modifications as may be appropriate in light of the comments received; and
shall present the regulations to the Board for further consideration if he
determines that this is warranted;

WHEREAS, the approved regulations have been made available for public
comment for a period of 15 days in accordance with the provisions of Title
1, California Code of Regulations, section 44, with the changes to the.
originally proposed text clearly indicated; and '

WHEREAS, the written comments received during this 15-day period have been
considered by the Executive Officer and do not require modification nor
reconsideration by the Board of the approved regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the recitaTs and findings contained in
Resolution 93-21 are incorporated herein.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that section 90800.4 and section 90803, Title 17,
California Code of Regulations, are adopted and amended as set forth in
Attachment 1 hereto.

Executed this _27th day of _ May , 1993, at Sacramento, California.

z%fl James D. Boyd 7

Executive Officer

Attachment



90800.

ATTACHMENT 1

CALIFORNIA CLEAN AIR ACT
NONVEHICULAR SOURCE FEE REGULATIONS

Adopt New Section 90800.4
and Amend Section 90803
Subchapter 3.8, California Clean Air Act
Nonvehicular Source Fee Regulations,
as follows:

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1989-90.

(a) No later than 180 dayé after the effective date of Sections
-90800-90803, each district identified below shall transmit

the dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit
into the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted

- shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
‘permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year

of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the

period from January 1, 1987,'through December 31, 1987,

inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be nine dollars and
ninety-two cents ($9.92) per ton.

(1) Bay Area Air Quality Management District: six hundred
seven thousand two hundred ninety-five dollars
($607,295);

(2) Butte County Air Pollution Control District: eight
thousand nine hundred fifty-eight dollars ($8,958);

(3) Fresno County Air Pollution Control District: thirty-

- four thousand one hundred fifty-five dollars
($34,155);



(4) Kern County Air Pollution Control District: four
hundred eighty-eight thousand eight hundred fifty-
eight dollars ($488,858);

(5) Kings County Air Pollution Control District: six

~ thousand two hundred ninety-nine dollars ($6,299);

(6) Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:
seventy-six thousand three hundred thirty-six dollars
($76,336);

(7) North Coast Unified Air Pollution Control District:
forty-nine thousand five hundred seventy-one dollars
($49,571);

| (8) Sacramento County Air Pollution Control District:
eleven thousand nine hundred fourteen dollars
($11,914);

(9) San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:

" two hundred six thousand one hundred forty-two
dollars ($206,142);

(10) San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:
fifty-three thousand six hundred thirty-nine dollars

- ($53,639);

(11) San Joaquin County Air Pollution Control District:
thirty-three thousand two hundred thirteen dollars
($33,213);

(12) san Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control
District: eighty-nine thousand two hundred thirty-
two dollars ($89,232);

(13) Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-four thousand eight hundred eighty dollars
($24,880); '

(14) Shasta County Air Pollution Control District:
thirteen thousand nine hundred forty-eight dollars
($13,948); ' ,

(15) South Coast Air Quality Management District: five

“hundred eighty-five thousand Tive hundred ninety =~

dollars ($585,590);



(16) Stanislaus County Air Pollution Control District:
nine thousand seven hundred fifty-two dollars
($9,752); '

(17) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:
forty-eight thousand seven hundred eighteen dollars
(%48,718). :

(b) Emissions from facilities identified on or before June 12,
1989, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the period
January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1987, shall be used
to determine compliance with these regulations.

(¢) In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
district shall, for any facility identified after June 12,
1989, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the period
from Janhary 1, 1987, through December 31, 1987, transmit
to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution Control
Fund nine dollars and ninety-two cents ($9.92) per ton of
such pollutant or precursor. '

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Hea]fh and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612 , Health and
Safety Code.



30800.1

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1990-91.

(a) No later than 180 days after the operative date of this

section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into
the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of'any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
period from January 1, 1888, through December‘31, 1988,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be twelve dollars and
eighty-nine cents ($12.89).

(1) Bay Area Air Quality Management District: eight
hundred fifty-four thousand five hundred six dollars
($854,506);

(2) Fresno County Air Pollution Control District: forty-
eight thousand seven hundred thirty-nine dollars
($48,739);

(3) Imperial County Air Pollution Control District: ten
thousand four hundred three dollars ($10,403);

(4) Kern County Air Pollution Control District: six
hundred thirteen thousand one hundred twenty dollars
($613,120); "

(5) Kings County Air Pollution Control District: eight
thousand seven hundred seventy-eight dollars
($8,778);

(6) Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:
one hundred fifty-three thousand four hundred forty-
eight dollars ($153,448);

(7) North Coast Unified Air Pollution Control District:

'.'SEVEthWthousand one hundréd sixty-three dollars
($70,163);




(8) Sacramento County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-three thousand nine hundred fifty dollars
($23,950); ‘

(9) San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control
District: three hundred forty-two thousand nine
hundred eleven dollars ($342,911);

(10) San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:

| eighty-eight thousand efght hundred two dollars
($88,802);

(11) San Joaquin County Air Pollution Control District:
forty-nine thousand two hundred ninety-three dollars
($49,293);

(12) San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control
District: one hundred forty-six thousand three

~ hundred seventy-one dollars ($146,371);

(13) Santa Barbhra County Air Pollution Control District:
eighteen thousand nine hundred eighty-eight dollars
($18,988); , ,

(14) sShasta County Air Pollution Control District:
seventeen thousand seven hundred fifty dollars
($17,750);

(15) South Coast Air Quality Management District: seven

. hundred eighty-one thousand one hundred eight
dollars ($781,108);

(16) Stanislaus County Air Pollution Control District:
fourteen thousand five hundred sixty-six dollars
($14,566); '

(17) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:

: fifty-seven thousand one hundred five dollars
($57,105). -

(b) Emissions from facilities identified by the Air Resources
Board on or before November 28, 1990, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or
precursors -during-the period-January 1, 1988, -through -
December 31, 1988, shall be used to determine compliance
with these regulations. :



(c¢) In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
district shall, for any facility identified after November
28, 1990, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of
any nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the
period from January 1, 1988, through December 31, 1988,
transmit to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution
Control Fund twelve dollars and eighty-nine cents ($12.89)
per ton of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612 Health
and Safety Code.

90800.2 Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1991-92.

(a) No later than 180 days after the operative date of this
section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into
the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
period from January 1, 1989, through December 31, 1989,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be eleven dollars and
ninety cents ($11.90) per ton.

(1) Bay Area Air Quality Management District: eight
hundred eleven thousand five hundred seven dollars
($811,507); |

(2) Imperial County:Air Poliution Control District:

~~fifteen thousand five doltars ($15,005)7  ~



(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10) -

Kern County Air Pollution Control District (SEDAB):
seventy thousand four hundred sixty dollars
($70,460); _

Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:
one hundred twenty-three thousand seven hundred forty-
nine dollars ($123,749);

North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District:
sixty-four thousand one hundred ninety-five dollars
($64,195);

Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management
District: sixty-four thousand fifty-two dollars
($64,052); ,

San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:
three hundred seventeen thousand seven hundred sixty-
one dollars ($317,761); |

San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:
eighty-eight thousand seven hundred eighteen dollars
($88,718); ' .

San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control
District:

- Fresno County Zone: seventy-seven thousand one

hundred twenty-nine dollars ($77,129);

Kern County Zone: four hundred thirty-nine thousand
five hundred seventy-five dollars ($439,575);

Kings County Zone: ten thousand one hundred sixty-two
doltlars ($10,162);

Madera County Zone: eight thousand eight hundred five
dollars ($8,805);

San Joaquin County Zone: forty thousand sixteen
dollars ($40,016); '

Stanislaus County Zone: fourteen thousand one hundred
ninety-five dollars ($14,195);

~San-Luis Obispo-County Air Pollution—Control District:-

one hundred twenty-seven thousand ‘one hundred seventy-
six dollars ($127,176);



(b)

(c)

(11) Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-three thousand one hundred twenty dollars
($23,120);

(12) Shasta County Air Pollution Control District: seven
thousand nine hundred ninety-six dollars ($7,996);

(13) South Coast Air Quality Management District:
seven hundred forty-three thousand eight hundred
twenty-five dollars ($743,825);

(14) Ventura County Air Pollution Control
District: forty-five thousand four hdndred
forty-two dollars ($45,442).

Emissions from facilities identified by the Air Resources
Board on or before April 11, 1991, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or
precursors during the period January 1, 1989, through

December 31, 1989, shall be used to determine'compliance

with these regulations. _

In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
district shall, for any facility identified after April
11, 1991, as having emitted 500 .tons or more per year of
any nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the

period from January 1, 1989, through December 31, 1989,

transmit to the Board for depoéit into the Air Pollution

Control Fund eleven dollars and ninety cents

($11.90) per ton of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612. Health and
Safety Code.
and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612. Health

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1992-93.

- == —{a) No tater than 180 days after-the operative date of this~ -

section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into



- the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted

shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
‘permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
period from January 1, 1990, through December 31, 1990,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be thirteen dollars
and twenty-nine cents ($13.29) per ton.

(1) Bay Area Air Quality Management District: eight
hundred eight thousand six hundred fifty-eight dollars
($808,658);

(2) Imperial County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-seven thousand two hundred eighty-seven dollars
($27,287);

(3) Kern County Air Pollution Control District (SEDAB):
ninety-five thousand three hundred sixty dollars
($95,360);

(4) Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:
one hundred twenty-two thousand sixty-three dollars
($122,063); '

(5) North Coast Unified Air Quality Manégement District:
thirty-seven thousand two hundred seventy-eight
dollars ($37,278);

(6) Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management
District: fifty-five thousand one hundred nineteen
dollars ($55,119);



(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:
three hundred thirty-nine thousand eighty-six dolilars
($339,086);

San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:
eighty-four thousand eight hundred sixty-five dollars
($84,865);

San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control
District: six hundred sixty thousand five hundred
fifty-seven dollars ($660,557), apportioned as
follows:

Fresno County Zone: eighty-three thousand nine

~hundred twenty-one dollars ($83,921)}

Kern County Zone: four hundred ninety-six thousand
eighty-nine dollars ($496,089);

Kings County Zone: sixteen thousand four hundred
sixty dollars ($16,460);

Madera County Zone: ten thousand eight hundred
ninety-four dollars ($10,894);

San Joaquin County Zone: forty thousand one hundred
thirty-four dollars ($40,134); '

Stanislaus County Zone: thirteen thousand fifty-nine
dollars ($13,059);

San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control District:

one hundred fifteen thousand four hundred seventy-
three dollars ($115,473);

10



(11) South Coast Air Quality Management District: six
hundred twenty-eight thousand eight hundred six
dollars ($628,806);

(12) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-eight thousand four hundred forty-three dollars
($28,443).

(b) Emissions from facilities identified by the Air Resources
Board on or before April 9, 1992, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or
precursors during the period January 1, 1990, through
December 31, 1990, shall be used to determine compliance
with these regulations.

(c) In addition to the amount cited in subsectionj(a) above, a
district shall, for any facility identified after April 9,
1992, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the period
from January 1, 1990, through December 31, 1990, transmit
to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution Control
Fund thirteen dollars and twenty-nine cents ($13.29) per

- ton of such pollutant or precursor. |

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612. Health and

Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612. Health
and Safety Code. ’

11



inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
t a ized to be col d ' u
sources. The fee to be charged shall be sixteen dollars -

| thirty-nine cents ($16.39) !

12



(1)

San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:

(8)

three hundred seventy-three thousand one hundred
seventy-four dollars ($373,174);

San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:
inety- t] | six hundred sixty- 011
($97.661);

(9) San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control
District: ix_hundred twenty ti | £ hundred
thirty-two dollars ($620.432);

(10) San luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control District:

(12)

Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:

13



ll - E ! 'g- E]] !- c ! ] D- ! - !’
Mendoci C ty Air_Polluti Control District,
Modoc County Air Pollution Control District,

Board on or before April 8., 1993, as having emitted 500 toﬁs

or more per year of any nonattainment polilutant or

during ti iod J 1. 199]. ti l
D ber 31. 1991. shall | | to det . 1
ith i lat i

and Safety Code.
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90801.

Definitions.

(a)

(b)

(c)

"Facility" means any nonvehicular source which requires a
permit from the district.

"Nonattainment pollutant” means any substance for which an
area has been designated in sections 60200-60209 as not
having attained a state ambient air quality standard listed
in section 70200, Title 17, California Code of Regulations,
as of July 1 of the fiscal year for which fees are being
collected.

"Nonattainment precursor" means any substance which reacts in
the atmosphere to contribute to the production of a
nonattainment pollutant or pollutants in an area designated
in sections 60200-60209 as not having attained a state
ambient air quality standard listed in section 70200, Title
17, California Code of Regulations, as of July 1 of the
fiscal year for which fees are being collected.

15



(d) For the purposes of this regulation, "nonattainment
pollutants and precursors" shall be defined as follows:

Substance | nonattainment
(as Tisted in Section 70200, | pollutant/precursor:
Title 17, CCR): { :
Ozone : reactive organic gases,

oxides of nitrogen

Sulfur Dioxide oxides of suifur

Sulfates oxides of sulfur
Nitrogen Dioxide ~ oxides of nitrogen
Carbon Monoxide carbon monoxide
Suspended suspended particulate
Particulate matter (PMIO)’

Matter (PMyg) . oxides of nitrogen,

oxides of sulfur
reactive organic gases

Visibility suspended particulate
Reducing matter (PMIO)’
Particles oxides of nitrogen,

oxides of sulfur
reactive organic gases

Hydrogen Sulfide hydrogen sulfide
Lead lead

e) "Operator” means the person who owns or operates a facility
or part of a facility.

16



NOTE:  Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code.

80802. Fee Payment and Collection.

(a) Each district shall notify and assess the operator of each
facility subject to permit fees, as provided for in these
regulations, in writing of the fee due. The fee shall be
past due 60 days after receipt by the operator of the fee
assessment notice.

(b) Each district shall assess an additional fee on operators
failing to pay the fee within 60 days of receipt of the fee
assessment notice. The district shall set the late fee in an
amount sufficient to pay the district's additional expenses
incurred by the operator'ﬁ untimely payment.

(c) Any fees submitted to the state which exceed costs to the
state of additional state programs authorized or required by
the California Clean Air Act of 1988 related to nonvehicular
sources, shall be carried over by the state for expenditure
for these purposes.

(d) Each district may recover administrative costs to the
district of collecting the fees pursuant to these
regulations. At the request of the State Board, a district
shall provide to the State Board, within 30 days of the
request, substantiation of administrative costs.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code.

17



90803. Failure of Facility to Pay Fees.

In the event any district is unable to collect the assessed fee
from any source due to circumstances beyond the control of the
district, including but not limited to facility closure or
refusal of the operator to pay despite permit revocation and/or
other enforcement action, such district shall notify the
Executive Officer of the State Board. For demonstrated good
cause, the district may be relieved from that portion of the fees
the district is required to collect and remit to the state as set
forth in section 90800 or. section 90800.1 or section 90800.2 or
section 90800.3 or section 90800.4. Nothing herein shall relieve
the operator from any obligation to pay any fees assessed
pursuant to this regulation.

NOTE: Authority‘cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and Safety
Code.
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