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Sections Affected: Adoption of section 90800.6 and amendment to section
90803, Title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR).

In the California Clean Air Act (the "Act," Stats. 1988, ch. 1568), the
Legislature imposed a number of requirements on the Air Resources Board (the
"Board" or "ARB") and the air pollution control and air quality management
districts and provided a mechan1sm to help defray the state costs of-
implementing the Act. ,

To offset the increased costs of additional state programs required by the
Act related to nonvehicular sources, the lLegislature, in section 39612 of
the Health and Safety Code, authorized the Board, beginning July 1, 1989, to
require districts to collect fees from holders of permits for facilities
which emit 500 tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or its
precursors. The total amount of funds collected by these fees, exclusive of
district administrative costs, may not exceed $3,000,000 in any fiscal year.
The authorization to assess fees expires on July 1, 1997.

In 1989, the Board adopted sections 90800-90803, Title 17, CCR, establishing
the California Clean Air Act Nonvehicular Source Fee Regulations including
the fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the ARB by the d1str1cts for the
first year of the program, f1sca1 year 1989-90.

In 1990, the Board adopted amendments to the regulations and a new section,
section 90800.1, to provide funding for the second year of the program,
fiscal year 1990-91. Again, the fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the
ARB were included.

In 1991, the Board adopted amendments to the regulaticns and a new section,
section 90800.2, to provide funding for the third year of the program,
fiscal year 1991-92. Again,-the fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the
ARB were included. Approved amendments to section 90801 included a
specification that the area désignations to be used will be those that are
in effect on July 1 of the fiscal year for which fees will be coliected.
Also in section 90801, reactive organic gas was included as a precursor to
both PM10 and visibility reducing particles. Section 90803 was amended to
be applicable to fees collected under section 90800.2.

In 1992, the Board adopted amendments to the regulations and a new section,
section 90800.3, to provide funding for the fourth year of the program,
fiscal year 1992-93. The fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the ARB
were included. Section 90803 was amended to be applicable to fees to be
collected under new section 90800.3.

In 1993, the Board adopted amendments to the reguiations and a new section,
section 90800.4, to provide funding for the fifth year of the program,
fiscal year 1993-94. The fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the ARB
were included. Section 90803 was amended to be applicable to fees to be
collected under new section 90800.4.
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In 1994, the Board adopted amendments to the regulations and a new section,
section 90800.5, to provide funding for the sixth year of the program,
fiscal year 1994-85. The fee rate and amounts to be remitted to the ARB
were included. An approved prov1s1on in section 90800.5(b) provided for
exclusion from the fees of emissions from a facility if the emissions would
be subject to the fees solely because the facility is in a district which is
designated by the Board as not having attained the state ambient air quality
standard for ozone solely as a result of ozone transport. Section 90803 was
amended to be applicable to fees to be collected under new section 90800.5.

The approved new section 90800.6, Title 17, CCR, specifies the fee rate and
amounts to be remitted to the ARB for the 1995-96 fiscal year, which is the
seventh year of the nonvehicular source permit fee program. Section 90803
was amended to be applicable to fees to be collected under new section
90800.6. .

As with the fee regulations for the first -six years, the approved
regulations provide for: 1) the collection of the emission fees by districts
on a dollar-per-ton basis, 2) the recovery of administrative costs by the
districts, 3) the imposition of penalties on facilities that do not pay in a
timely manner, and 4) the release of districts from the fee collection
requirements for demonstrated good cause.

The fee rate is calculated based on the cost of state programs related to
nonvehicular sources under the Act ($3,000,000) and the amount of emissions
of nonattainment pollutants or their precursors from sources subject to the
fee regulation. Excess revenues collected by this program in prior years
are carried over and used to reduce fees in fiscal year 1995-96., The
regulations provide for the assessment of $2,726,916 which includes a

carry over of $273,084 from fiscal year 1993-94.

The approved regulations specify that fees shall be based on the estimated
1993 emissions from each facility as determined on or before April 27, 1995,
Fees shall be collected by the affected districts from permitted sources
which are located in nonattainment areas and are identified as having
emitted 500 tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or its
precursors in 1993. Nonattainment areas are those in which air pollutant
concentrations violate state ambient air quality standards. Nonattainment
areas are identified in sections 60200-60209, Title 17, CCR. The
regulations also require the collection of fees from sources identified
after April 27, 1995, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during 1993.



