MODIFIED REGULATION TEXT:

Note:
Language to be added is underlined and language to be removed is shown in strikeout.  The modifications proposed at the public hearing on October 26, 2000, are shown in double underline to show additions and double strikeout to show deletions.

Amend Tables 1, 2, 3a, 3b, 3c, and 4, in Section 90705, title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR) (The Air Toxics Hot Spots Fee Regulation), to read as follows: 

90705.


Fee Payment and Collection.

(a)
Each district shall notify and assess the operator of each facility subject to this regulation in writing of the fee due.  Except as provided in Sections 90702(c) and (d), 90703, 90704(f), and 90704(g), each district shall use the facility program category as the basis for billing.  The operator shall remit the fee to the district within 60 days after the receipt of the fee assessment notice or the fee will be considered past due.  If an operator fails to pay the fee within 60 days of this notice, the district shall assess a penalty of not more than 100 percent of the assessed fee, but in an amount sufficient, in the district's determination, to pay the district's additional expenses incurred by the operator's non‑compliance.  If an operator fails to pay the fee within 120 days after receipt of this  notice, the district may initiate permit revocation proceedings.  If any permit is revoked it shall be reinstated only upon full payment of the overdue fee plus any late penalty, and a reinstatement fee to cover administrative costs of reinstating the permit.

(1)
The invoices sent by the districts to the facilities shall contain, but not be limited to, the following information: name and address of the facility; name, address, and phone number contact of the district sending the bill, date of bill, invoice number, fiscal year for which the bill is being sent, where to send the remittance, an indication of whether or not a small business cap is applicable, and the following statement: "The California Health and Safety Code Section 44380 requires the collection of fees from facilities subject to the requirements of the Air Toxics Hot Spots Information and Assessment Act of 1987."

(b)
Each district shall collect the fees assessed by or required to be assessed by this regulation.  After deducting the costs to the district to implement and administer the program, each district shall transmit to the State Board the amount the district is required to collect for recovery of state costs pursuant to Section 90700(b)(1), as set forth in Table 1, within 180 days of the 

receipt of an invoice from the State Board.  Checks shall be made payable to the State Air Resources Board.  The State Board shall forward the revenues to the State Controller for deposit in the Air Toxics Inventory and Assessment Account.

(c)
Any fee revenues received by a district for which fees have been adopted pursuant to Section 90704(b) that exceed district and state costs shall be reported to the State Board and shall be retained by the district for expenditure in the next two fiscal years.

(d)
If a district does not collect sufficient revenues to cover both the district program costs and the portion of the state costs that the district is required to remit to the State Board for a particular fiscal year due to circumstances beyond the control of the district, the district shall notify the Executive Officer of the State Board prior to April 1 of the year following the applicable fiscal year and may for demonstrated good cause be relieved by the Executive Officer from an appropriate portion of the fees the district is required to collect and remit to the state.


Circumstances beyond the control of the district  may include but are not limited to plant closure  or refusal of the facility operator to pay  despite permit revocation or other enforcement  action.  Documentation of the circumstances  resulting in the shortfall shall be submitted to the ARB upon request.  Nothing herein shall  relieve the operator from any obligation to pay any fees assessed pursuant to this regulation.

(1)
A district for which the State Board has adopted a fee schedule pursuant to Section 90704(b) may, upon notifying the Executive Officer of the State Board, carry over all or a portion of such shortfall in revenue from one to four fiscal years after the shortfall was discovered and add the shortfall amount to its program costs for each such subsequent fiscal year.

Notes:  Authority cited:  Sections 39600, 39601, and 44380, Health and Safety Code. 

Reference:  Section 44380, Health and Safety Code.  

Table I

Revenues to be Remitted to Cover State Costs By District


               Revenues



District                                                                    to be Remitted
Amador      
    2,552
      1,346
      1,346

Antelope Valley
  10,133
      8,928
      9,263  

Bay Area
  80,022
    83,371
    83,371

Butte
  10,435
      9,296
      9,296

Calaveras
           0                        
               0
               0

Colusa
           0                                        
             0
             0

El Dorado
    7,488           
      3,738
      3,738

Feather River
    5,015                                       
      8,863
    12,492

Glenn
       455                                       
         455    
         455    

Great Basin
  10,488          
      5,109
      5,109

Imperial
  10,775        
    10,775
    10,775

Kern
       729          
         589
         589

Lake
           0                                      
             0  
             0  

Lassen
    3,129          
      3,129
      3,129

Mariposa
       507                                       
         507 
         507 

Mendocino
    4,519                                       
      4,720
      4,720

Modoc
         70                                        
           70 
           70 

Mojave Desert
  27,053         
    22,697
    22,295

Monterey
    7,994        
      5,985
      5,985

North Coast
    7,207        
      1,502
      1,502

Northern Sierra
    7,185        
      7,215
      7,215

Northern Sonoma
         70         
           70      
           70      

Placer
  12,018        
    11,147
    11,147

Sacramento
    9,232        
      9,232
      9,232

San Diego
114,896
  138,231
  138,231

San Joaquin Valley
  81,347                                       
    53,023
    53,023

San Luis Obispo
       350                                       
         350       
         350       

Santa Barbara
  39,668                             
    30,897
    35,888

Shasta
  12,757          
     13,093
    12,054

Siskiyou
    6,275                                        
      5,873   
      5,873   

South Coast
684,077                                     
  545,513
  578,153

Tehama
         67                                     
           67
           67

Tuolumne
       834                                        
         700  
         700  

Ventura 
  43,833                           
    45,775
    49,996

Yolo-Solano  
    5,698
      5,698


      5,698



 TOTAL                                                                                                                                                        
1,206,878
1,037,964
1,082,339

Table 2

District Costs to be Recovered Through the Fee Regulation

                                        Anticipated

District
              District Costs*

Antelope Valley
          9,000
13,340 
Great Basin
          7,500
  5,520
Imperial
                                         770

Lassen
          1,988 
  2,089
Mojave Desert                                            25,000                 35,135
Santa Barbara                                            102,500                50,000
*
These amounts may reflect adjustments for excess or insufficient revenues under sections 90705(c) and (d)(1).

Table 3a

Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

   Unprioritized


Unprioritized
      
       Unprioritized

Tracking
Tracking
Tracking

District
       (Simple)



   (Medium)
        
       (Complex)  

(Simple)   
(Medium)
(Complex)

State Portion            402



       603  
      

804


 67

   100

      134

   Of Fee

Total Fee

(State Portion + District Portion)
Antelope Valley













    692   

Great Basin
         805  1,060  1,043
                  
1,207  1,590  1,565
           1,609   2,119   2,086
Imperial







 




     88
Lassen

Mojave Desert            800                    

     1,904   4,294




   212   477
    317   715
      423  954

Santa Barbara                     








           537   331   396
    805  497  594    1,074  663  792
Table 3b

Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

  Risk                       Risk                        Risk 

            Score >10
   
Score >10             Score >10           >=10 < 50            >=10 < 50 
           >=10 < 50

District

(Simple)

(Medium)
    (Complex)   

(Simple) 
     (Medium)
(Complex)

State Portion 
              1,674
                2,009
        2,344                     3,014
                    3,349                       3,684

   Of Fee

Total Fee

(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley


               7,927  7,832






              11,181   11,060
Great Basin
           2,613  3,209  3,170   

                    3,417
Imperial






     
                    


         3,732 

  4,088
Lassen





  5,272   5,378
Mojave Desert



                                   
                
                                     5,952   10,730                6,431   11,476

Santa Barbara








     7,508  8,607
9,437  8,108  9,271     12,616   8,707  9,935
Table 3c

Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

    Risk

      Risk

      Risk

      Risk
     
   Risk
 
   
    Risk

           >= 50 < 100

>= 50 < 100
  
 >=50 < 100
    > = 100
    
 > = 100
 
  > = 100 

District
(Simple)
  (Medium)
              (Complex)  
    (Simple)                 (Medium)
 
(Complex)

State Portion                   4,353 
      4,688        

      5,023
      5,693

  6,028

                6,363

   Of Fee

Total Fee

(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley

Great Basin

Imperial

Lassen

Mojave Desert




          


 8,204   14,045   

Santa Barbara


     
                   10,240   11,597        




                                

Table 4*

Fees for Industrywide and District Update Facilities

  

Industrywide


District Update

District                         
  Facilities


    Facilities 

Antelope Valley

  
0
                                125

Great Basin


          60
                     103     125

Imperial


          35                                        38.50    

Lassen


    
            0
                       50         0               

Mojave Desert

      
    85    0                                          125

Santa Barbara


          95                                          125

*
State cost per facility is consistent statewide as follows: 

 State Industrywide facilities: $35

Appendix A


District Air Toxic Inventories, Reports, and Surveys


Appendix A

Air Pollution Control District

Air Toxic Inventories, Reports or Surveys

1.
San Diego County Air Pollution Control District "List of Semiconductor Manufacturers Using Toxic Gases (Arsine or Phosphine).  May 1988."

2.

San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District "San Joaquin Valley Unified APCD Toxics List.  February 25, 1994."

3.
Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District "Current Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District List of Air Toxic Sources.  July 14, 1997."
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