2012 Winners of the Annual Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards

This page last reviewed December 10, 2012

“This year’s recipients reflect the ideals and dedication that have helped make California a pioneer in cleaning up air pollution,” said ARB Chairman Mary D. Nichols. “They’ve driven public policy with their innovative ideas, and educated our communities on the importance of air quality. All three have achieved sustained results through excellence in engaging with the general public, stakeholders and experts to make significant contributions to cleaner air and a healthier California.”


2012 winner trophies

2012 Winners: Tom Cackette, Andrea Hricko, and Ron Loveridge

Tom Cackette - for his work in Environmental Policy

Tom Cackette award winnerMr. Tom Cackette is the Air Resources Board’s Chief Deputy Executive Officer and has worked with ARB since 1982. Mr. Cackette has been involved in many areas of air pollution control since the 1970s but is most notably recognized for his guidance and perseverance in mobile source control regulations for the ARB. His most recent contributions are the Low-Emission Vehicle and Zero-Emission Vehicle regulations along with ground-breaking funding incentives such as the Carl Moyer and Lower-Emission School Bus Programs. Taken together, these programs have led to the accelerated development, demonstration, and fleet acquisition of a portfolio of clean-fueled transportation technologies with dramatic co-benefits including: reduced emissions leading to profound public health benefits, reduced dependency on petroleum matched by increased fuel diversity, and demonstrable progress toward clean-energy alternatives.

Andrea M. Hricko, MPH - for her work in Public Education

Andrea Hricko award winnerMs. Andrea M. Hricko is being recognized for her work in the area of public education and advocacy. Her current work involves environmental justice topics surrounding public health impacts from goods movement in the ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles. She served on the U.S. EPA National Environmental Justice Committee’s Working Group on Ports and Goods Movement, the Governor of California’s Cabinet-Level Goods Movement Action Plan Integrating Work Group, and the Southern California Association of Governments Goods Movement Task Force, helping to formulate more sustainable transportation and goods movement policies. She is widely regarded as an inspiration to the youth and community members she serves and for empowering community-based organizations to educate their communities and local policymakers about the health effects of air pollution and more effectively advocate for cleaner air and better land use decision making.

Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge, Ph.D. - for his work in Environmental Policy

Mayor Loveridge award winnerDr. Ronald Loveridge has been an Air Resources Board Member since 2004 and is retiring this year after over 30 years of community service. He served as Mayor of Riverside since 1994, an unprecedented 4 terms; served on the South Coast Air Quality Management District Board and has been an Associate Professor in Political Science at the University of California, Riverside for nearly 40 years. Dr. Loveridge was President of the League of California Cities, a member of the Regional Council of the Southern California Association of Governments, and has been honored by the American Lung Association for his leadership in protecting public health from air pollution. He has been honored by such organizations as the American Planning Association and the California Preservation Foundation. As Mayor of Riverside he led the implementation of the Strategic Action Plan to Make Riverside a Model Clean Air City which was recognized with an annual award by the South Coast Air Quality District as a Model Clean Air Community. Mayor Loveridge appointed a “Clean & Green Task Force” for the city. And in 2007 the Task Force, with the Mayor’s endorsement, put forth a “Sustainable Riverside Policy Statement” which led to Riverside being officially designated as the first “Emerald City” by California Department of Conservation.

2012 winners Tom Cackette and Ron Loveridge with ARB Boardmembers

ARB Boardmembers with 2012 Winners Tom Cackette and Ron Loveridge, December 6, 2012, Diamond Bar, CA. Andrea Hricko not pictured.


For more information on ARB's Clean Air Awards, contact Heather Choi at (916) 322-3893.