Reactivity Scientific Advisory
Committee (RSAC) Member Biographies
January 20, 2000

This page updated January 24, 2006.

Research Scientific Advisory
Committee (RSAC) Members' Biographies

Dr. John H. Seinfeld, the Chairman of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science and the Louis E. Nohl Professor at the California Institute of Technology, chairs the committee. Professor Seinfeld is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Chairman of the National Research Council Committee on Tropospheric Ozone Formation. He is or has been a member of eleven editorial boards, and is the author of seven books and over 300 articles on the chemical and physical processes that form ozone and atmospheric aerosols.
Dr. Roger Atkinson is a Research Chemist and Professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences at the University of California, Riverside. Professor Atkinson is a member of several national and international review committees on atmospheric chemistry, and has written over 300 articles on the chemistry of organic compounds, including several major reviews used by all atmospheric chemists.
Dr. Jack G. Calvert is a Senior Research Associate (retired as Senior Scientist) at the National Center for Atmospheric Research and Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at Ohio State University. Professor Calvert has served on over 40 national and international committees relating to atmospheric chemistry and is the author of over 250 articles on the chemistry of air pollution.
Dr. Harvey E. Jeffries is a professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He has conducted smog chamber experiments on almost every aspect of ozone chemistry and has been an advisor on reactivity issues to the U.S. EPA, WSPA and others.
Dr. Jana B. Milford is an Associate Professor in the Department of mechanical Engineering at the University of Colorado. Professor Milford's main research area is the mathematical modeling and uncertainty analysis of air pollution, and she has published several articles and reports on the effects of uncertainty on the reactivity factors used in ARB's regulations.

Dr. Armistead G. Russell was recently appointed the Georgia Power Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. While a professor at Carnegie Mellon University, his research focused on mathematical modeling of air pollution, assessments of reactivity scales, emissions, and public policy. Professor Russell has served on three National Research Council panels on the topics of risk assessment and the ozone problem. His Home Page can be accessed at

Reactivity Scientific Advisory Committee