Announcement Regarding the Recently Published Artic le in the Western
Reporter September 2008 Issue — “California’s Compo  site Wood Products
Regulation Effective Next January”

CARB received numerous inquiries over the past few weeks from the readers of
the Western Reporter’'s September 2008 issue regarding our recently published
article on the Composite Wood Products Airborne Toxic Control Measure
(ATCM). In the article, titled, “California’s Composite Wood Products Regulation
Effective Next January”, the basic regulatory requirements and sell-through
provisions were discussed, as well as the necessary steps that home furnishings
retailers need to take to ensure they comply with the new regulation.
Unfortunately, there has been some misunderstanding with respect to time
frames for selling and supplying noncompliant products to California. Therefore,
CARB would like to provide additional information to readers and the regulated
community.

Originally this article stated that “Beginning January 1, 2009 any composite
wood product, or finished good containing composite wood products (a.k.a.
finished good, such as furniture, cabinets, etc.), intended for the California
market, must meet California’s clean air emissions  tandards limiting
formaldehyde emissions.”  While this is a true statement, many readers
contend that this first sentence implied that only finished goods made with
compliant composite wood products can be sold, supplied, and/or offered for sale
to California after January 1, 2009. However, the ATCM does have provisions
that allow 18 months for retailers to clear noncompliant inventories of finished
goods after January 1, 2009. Under the sell-through provisions, finished goods
fabricated from composite wood products that were manufactured before each
applicable effective date may legally be sold, supplied, or offered for sale in
California for 18 months after the effective date. Thus, for the initial effective
date of January 1, 2009, finished goods using composite wood products that
were manufactured before January 1, 2009 could be fabricated after January 1,
2009 and sold by the fabricator or retailer until June 30, 2010.

For additional information on the sell-through dates that apply to entities required
to comply with the regulation, please refer to the following link at:
http://www.arb.ca.gov/toxics/compwood/implementation/sell_thruadvisory.pdf
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wood product, or finished good containing
composite wood products (a.k.a. finished
good, such as furniture, cabinets, etc.), intended
for the California market, must meet California’s
clean air emission standards limiting formaldehyde
emissions. The regulation addresses three types
of commonly used composite wood products
— hardwood plywood, particleboard and medium-
density fiberboard. Responsibility for compliance
will run through each link in the commercial chain
of control and each will be held liable and subject to
enforcement actions.

Formaldehyde was identified by the California Air
Resources Board in 1992 as a toxic air contaminant
and state law requires that the public’s exposure be
reduced through the use of best available control
technology. Sufficient evidence exists for the California
Air Resources Board, the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, and the International Agency for
Research on Cancer to conclude that formaldehyde
causes cancer in humans.

In addition to cancer health concerns, exposure
to formaldehyde can cause headaches, nausea and
fatigue. Moderate levels of formaldehyde can cause a
number of adverse health effects including temporary
burning or itchy eyes and nose, stuffy nose and
sore throat. At higher concentrations formaldehyde
can irritate the lung’s passageways and cause chest
tightness, coughing and wheezing.

It is for these reasons, and the fact that technology
currently exists to reduce the health risks, that the
California Air Resources Board passed this regulation.

Recognized as the most stringent production-
based emission standards in the world, this regulation
will be implemented in two phases requiring
increasingly stringent emissions reductions. Phase
1 emission standards will be effective on January
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chain. The manufacturers of composite wood
products, third party certifiers, fabricators,
distributors, importers and retailers of composite
wood products and finished goods must collectively
assure that the composite wood products and
finished goods manufactured for sale in California
are compliant in commerce. This will require

that each recognizes and clearly understands the
California’s composite wood product regulation.

Retailers are required to keep records and
document their products for California sale to comply
with the requirements. At a minimum, records must
include the names of suppliers, dates purchased and
a description of the “reasonable prudent precautions”
taken. Reasonable prudent precautions include
instructing suppliers that they must supply goods that
comply with California standards and documenting
this exchange. Records should be kept in electronic or
hard copy form for two years.

California’s composite wood product regulation
contains sell-through provisions. This allows
a period of time to sell existing inventories of
composite wood products and finished goods
containing composite wood products after the
January 1, 2009 effective date. The same set of sell-
through periods apply as Phase 2 emission standards
become effective between January 2010 and July
2012. For retailers, the sell-through period for
composite wood products (particleboard, medium-
density fiberboard, and hardwood plywood) is 12
months after the emission standard effective dates.
Retailers will also have 18 months, to use, sell,
supply and offer for sale finished goods containing
composite wood products.

California Air Resources Board enforcement
officers and local air pollution officials are
authorized to conduct inspections at retail facilities
and request documentation proving compliance.
Any outlet found with non-complying products will
be subject to penaldies.

California Air Resources Board staf’s outreach
efforts indicate that major big box retailers are
aware of the regulation and working to be in
compliance by January 1, 2009. All North American
producers of particleboard, hardwood plywood and
medium-density fiberboard are anticipated to be
in compliance in advance of the January 1, 2009,
implementation date. T

For more information please visit the website at:
www.arb.ca.govl/toxics/compwood/compwood. hem, or contact
Ms. Angela Csondes at acsondes@arb.ca.gov.
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