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MARCH 2008 
 

Requirements for Perc Manufacturers and Distributors 
 
On January 25, 2007, the California Air Resources Board (ARB) approved the amendments to the Airborne Toxic 
Control Measure for Emissions of Perchloroethylene (Perc) from Dry Cleaning Operations (Dry Cleaning ATCM) 
and the adoption of requirements for Perc manufacturers and distributors.  On December 27, 2007, the Office of 
Administrative Law (OAL) completed its review of ARB’s final rulemaking file and submitted the approved 
regulations to the Secretary of State.  As a result, the amended Dry Cleaning ATCM and the requirements for 
Perc manufacturers and distributors became State law on that date.  This advisory summarizes the requirements 
for Perc manufacturers and distributors.    
 
What are the requirements for Perc manufacturers? 
 
The requirements for Perc manufacturers include specified recordkeeping and reporting to the ARB.  Perc 
manufacturers are to keep monthly sales records of Perc for use in dry cleaning in California.  In addition, Perc 
manufacturers are to report to ARB any change in contact information for all their distributors who sell Perc for 
use in California dry cleaning when it occurs.   
     
What are the requirements for Perc distributors? 
 
The requirements for Perc distributors include specified recordkeeping and reporting to the ARB and a specified 
fee payment schedule.  These requirements are summarized below: 
 

• Keep monthly sales records of Perc and recycled Perc sold for use in California dry cleaning; 
• Keep monthly purchase records of Perc purchased for use in California dry cleaning; 
• Keep contact information for California dry cleaners that purchased Perc and recycled Perc; 
• Keep contact information of all their distributors; 
• Report to ARB if there is any change in their contact information or the contact information of their 

distributors; 
• Report to ARB the gallons of Perc and recycled Perc sold to California dry cleaners each year; and 
• Pay fees no later than 30 days after the issuance of an invoice from ARB based on the fee schedule 

shown in Table 1. 
 

Table 1.  Perc Fee Invoice Schedule 
 

Year 
Perc Fee  

per Gallon Sold 
(in U.S. Dollars) 

Invoice Cycle 
Approximate 
Invoice Date 

2007 $6.00 January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2007 February 2008 

2008 $7.00 January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2008 February 2009 

2009 $8.00 January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009 February 2010 

2010 $9.00 January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2010 February 2011 

2011 $10.00 January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011 February 2012 

2012 $11.00 January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2012 February 2013 

2013 $12.00 January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013 February 2014 

2014-2022 $12.00 January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014, and 
each subsequent calendar year through 2022 

February 2015 and 
each February 

thereafter through 
February 2023 
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Where should the reports be sent? 
 
The mailing address for submitting reports is as follows: 

 
    Air Resources Board 
    Stationary Source Division (Dry Cleaning Report) 
    1001 I Street 
    Sacramento, CA 95812 
 
Who can I contact for more information? 

 
For more information on the requirements, please contact Mei Fong at 916.324.2570 (e-mail: sfong@arb.ca.gov), 
Sonia Villalobos at 916.327.5983 (e-mail: svillalo@arb.ca.gov), Hafizur Chowdhury at 916.322.2275 (e-mail: 
hchowdhu@arb.ca.gov), or visit our dry cleaning website at http://www.arb.ca.gov/toxics/dryclean/dryclean.htm  


